Keeping content up-to-date and permissions on the LUWS

Share discussions around the Classic Local Unit Website (LUWS).
coloradotechie-p40

Keeping content up-to-date and permissions on the LUWS

Post by coloradotechie-p40 »

Is it reasonable to give people temporary admin access to update a section of the site?

Our Sunday School president wanted to update the Lesson Schedules and both the LUWS main admin and I have been fairly busy so we haven't had the chance to do it yet. I thought it would be okay to give the SS President admin to update the lessons since he offered to do it himself but I'm a super newbie with the LUWS... I didn't know if that was okay.

Is there a standard out there to follow when granting access (for example, to update the leadership or Lesson Schedules)? Is it up to the ward?

(Note: our LUWS main admin is reluctant to give out access. Since I'm a newbie with the LUWS I didn't know what the standard was. He is concerned about security and rightly so... there are enough people out there with the intent to do harm (not in our ward, just in general :) ). However, I didn't know if there was an established level of trust of people in the ward with callings or if you have to have specific permission from the bishop to be a temporary admin).

The only thing that I see that a temporary administrator could get access to would be an adult's birthday (month/day/year)... all the other sensitive stuff is in MLS. I know if the temporary admin went through the site with bad intentions than that would be quite damaging... so I think some discretion would need to be used... I just don't know if there is a LUWS help page/manual that talks about this.
techgy
Community Moderators

Post by techgy »

coloradotechie wrote:Is it reasonable to give people temporary admin access to update a section of the site?