Question about Notes and Handbook changes

Any discussions around the Gospel Library App on various mobile and electronic devices.
toonetown
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 8:40 am

Question about Notes and Handbook changes

Postby toonetown » Sun Apr 14, 2019 12:51 pm

I love the fact that the handbook is being kept up-to-date in the app!

However, I do have a question that came up in our presidency meeting. What happens if we attach a note (or highlight, etc.) to some paragraph that later on gets changed? Do our notes disappear, or do they get changed, or do we somehow get notified of the change?

I guess a similar question is what happens to notes or highlights for materials that go away later i.e. if I make markings to handbook 1 while serving in a bishopric, what happens to my notes when I am released (and the book is removed from my access in GL)? What happens if I am later called again to a calling with access to HB1?

This is more out of my own curiosity (from a technical perspective) than an issue or problem I have.

jonesrk
Church Employee
Church Employee
Posts: 1745
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:12 am
Location: Farmington, UT, USA

Re: Question about Notes and Handbook changes

Postby jonesrk » Sun Apr 14, 2019 4:56 pm

I don't know myself, but I passed this on to a developer who has worked on the backend service for the annotations. We'll see if I get a response.
Ryan Jones
CDOL Developer
Stake Technology Specialist - Software / Stake Assistant Clerk
Former Ward Clerk

tebbsdc
Church Employee
Church Employee
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:49 am

Re: Question about Notes and Handbook changes

Postby tebbsdc » Mon Apr 15, 2019 7:57 am

Each paragraph has a unique ID so when you attach a note to a paragraph it is attached to the ID. If a paragraph is changed the note will still be attached to the paragraph. It the paragraph is deleted or change significantly the note will refer to a paragraph ID that no longer exists. You will still be able to see your notes by going to Notes section and looking under the All tab. If you assign a note to a specific Notebook you can always go look in the Notebook.

The second question is similar to the first. Your notes and highlights never get deleted so if you get another calling that has access to handbook 1 your annotations will show up where you saw them before. Like I said before even if you no longer have access to handbook 1 content your notes will still be available in the Notes section.


Return to “Gospel Library”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests