Page 1 of 2

Login help

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:47 pm
by craiggsmith
One of my wards can't get into their computer, although no one has claimed to have changed the password. Times like this is why I set up a stake admin account, but when go to log in I don't see any other accounts to select besides the local unit's. I don't know windows 10 very well, but normally on the startup screen I see all the accounts in the lower left. Is there something I'm missing?

Re: Login help

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 3:58 pm
by russellhltn
I don't think so. Someone probably either deleted or disabled the stake account.

Re: Login help

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 4:00 pm
by russellhltn
Some machines are set to force a password change every so often. I'd suggest trying some obvious variations of the old password, such as adding a number or incrementing an existing number.

Re: Login help

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 8:32 pm
by craiggsmith
russellhltn wrote:Some machines are set to force a password change every so often. I'd suggest trying some obvious variations of the old password, such as adding a number or incrementing an existing number.

Yeah, they said it forces them to change often so we tried that, also tried caps lock. I wasn't aware that they had implemented a change policy, one ward said it was forcing them to change every couple weeks, although it appears every couple months with this ward.

Re: Login help

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 8:33 pm
by craiggsmith
russellhltn wrote:I don't think so. Someone probably either deleted or disabled the stake account.

The default HQ accounts don't appear to be there either. I'll call support tomorrow.

Re: Login help

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 8:36 pm
by russellhltn
craiggsmith wrote:The default HQ accounts don't appear to be there either. I'll call support tomorrow.

I don't think it will appear if they're disabled. Let us know how that call to support works out.

Re: Login help

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:53 pm
by craiggsmith
Not surprisingly they said the only solution is to re-image it.

Re: Login help

Posted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:02 am
by drepouille
Do you suppose someone misinterpreted the wording of the financial audit, and removed Windows accounts, rather than removing inactive MLS accounts?

Re: Login help

Posted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 8:45 pm
by craiggsmith
drepouille wrote:Do you suppose someone misinterpreted the wording of the financial audit, and removed Windows accounts, rather than removing inactive MLS accounts?

Good point, I'll look into that.

Re: Login help

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:46 pm
by fsiufanua
craiggsmith wrote:
russellhltn wrote:Some machines are set to force a password change every so often. I'd suggest trying some obvious variations of the old password, such as adding a number or incrementing an existing number.

Yeah, they said it forces them to change often so we tried that, also tried caps lock. I wasn't aware that they had implemented a change policy, one ward said it was forcing them to change every couple weeks, although it appears every couple months with this ward.



I have two computers today with newer installs I did a month ago that the clerks are complaining about this forced password change policy and want to know if it is the new thing. I haven't heard any reports from other wards with older computers yet and wonder if it was just that last image that was rolled out this last time. It had some major problems and caused all sorts of issues, so I'm thinking the image it's self is the problem. I'll call GSC Monday and find out for sure. Funny thing is both clerk office's solution was to post the password on the monitor with a sticky note. :-)