Can you reuse a test event?

Conversations around originating a webcast for conference, including cameras and mixers.
lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 8061
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Can you reuse a test event?

Postby lajackson » Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:26 pm

If you set up a test event, and it runs, can you make changes to it and use it again, or is it forever gone and you will have to set up a new test event with new codes for the encoder and a new event code?

At what point can you no longer make changes? Before the servers spin up?

Inquiring minds . . .

User avatar
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators
Posts: 3493
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:56 am
Location: Layton, UT

Re: Can you reuse a test event?

Postby Mikerowaved » Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:47 pm

It's my understanding that as long as you're still within the 1 hour run time, you can quit, make changes, and restart it as often as you like. Once the time limit is up, you'll have to schedule another event.
So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.

rannthal
Church Employee
Church Employee
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 1:41 pm

Re: Can you reuse a test event?

Postby rannthal » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:05 am

Mikerowaved is correct. On a test event, you can edit the event (start time, name, add locations, etc.) all you wish before the server starts to come up. After that, those items are set.

You can, however, make any changes you need to with the encoder as many times as you want/need with the event running. Just be sure to set the test event long enough to be able to test what you need to do.

(As a heads up, coming soon the STS will be able to extend events, test and normal, as needed for themselves.)

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 8061
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Re: Can you reuse a test event?

Postby lajackson » Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:28 pm

rannthal wrote:(As a heads up, coming soon the STS will be able to extend events, test and normal, as needed for themselves.)

That is what was needed. The wrong end time got loaded, and the easy fix would have been to extend the time, rather than have to switch to a new event in the middle of the webcast.

I look forward to the change and, at the same time, hope never to need it.


Return to “Webcasting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest