VLyriC: new software for displaying hymn lyrics on video at stake conference

Using the Church Webcasting System, YouTube, etc. Including cameras and mixers.
cboling

VLyriC: new software for displaying hymn lyrics on video at stake conference

Post by cboling »

When the computer for the setup I've been using since 2004 died a couple of weeks before conference and I had trouble recreating it, I decided it was time for a new, more universal, way of doing the display. I ended up writing VLyriC, which uses VLC as the display engine, and is a easier than a Powerpoint-style slide show -- esp. when making last-minute changes on the fly during the meeting. I also added camera selection to it (since my previous method wasn't available on Linux).

All that's required is VLC and this program (and one or more video sources for VLC to use -- a dummy source if you don't want video) and you're in business. The program and source code are available at the above link. It saved my weekend, and I hope it helps someone else.
VLyriC.jpg
VLyriC.jpg (25.38 KiB) Viewed 4150 times
(How nice! The forum image uploader turned my 23k png into a crummy-looking 25k jpeg. Guess it was too big...:rolleyes:)
ksolsen
Church Employee
Church Employee

Post by ksolsen »

Very impressive! I love it.
Kurt Olsen - Product Manager at Church HQ for Digital Presentation (Personal Video Conferencing, Meetinghouse Webcast, Conference Rooms, Video Conference Endpoints, Meetinghouse Digital Content)
michaelfish

Post by michaelfish »

I'd like to see what the text-over-video looks like.

Can you upload a sample? For instance, where is the text overlayed (bottom, middle, etc.)? What font did you decide to use? How is the overlay quality, etc? What is the resolution factor (low, medium, 720, HD)?

Thanks
Aczlan

Post by Aczlan »