Geocoding with the new family search API

stuporglue-p40
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:15 am

Geocoding with the new family search API

Postby stuporglue-p40 » Sat Jan 26, 2008 9:42 am

Hello, we're working on a Google Maps / New Family Search mashup, and we need to get the geocodes for each individual in a user's family tree. Brother Clarke said there was a geocoding API, however I can't find any documentation on it.

Does anyone know where I can find information on geocoding?


Thanks,
Michael Moore

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20774
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:51 pm


stuporglue-p40
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:15 am

Nothing on Devnet

Postby stuporglue-p40 » Sat Jan 26, 2008 4:09 pm

Yes, I checked devnet. I've got access on that site to see the documentation hosted there, but I don't see anything about geocoding.

JamesAnderson
Senior Member
Posts: 748
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 2:03 pm

Postby JamesAnderson » Sat Jan 26, 2008 9:25 pm

The present Google mashup works very well, I've seen it during some training I took this week at the Utah Valley FH training center.

If you add information that the system does not already have, the next time you view the map, the new locations are there. It's accurate for the most part as well, I didn't see anything different generally. I found it updates with the new information as I added a death and burial location for an ancestor that the system did not have.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20774
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:58 pm

I'm not sure exactly what you are looking for. Perhaps it's the part of the API that deals with places. If you go to labs.familysearch.org, you'll find the [color="Blue"]standard finder[/color], which will take a place name and convert it to a site ID as well as give alternate names for the same time. However, I think it only codes down to the city level. I don't think it's designed to deal with street addresses and the like, but I could be wrong.

fryercraig-p40
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:22 pm

Postby fryercraig-p40 » Sun Jan 27, 2008 4:25 pm

I believe that Stuporglue is looking for a way to get the longitude/latitude values of the location or place. This is beneficial when mapping out the location and calculating distances between locations. Does anyone know how this 'geocoding' method can be done?

stuporglue-p40
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:15 am

Postby stuporglue-p40 » Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:12 am

fryercraig wrote:I believe that Stuporglue is looking for a way to get the longitude/latitude values of the location or place. This is beneficial when mapping out the location and calculating distances between locations. Does anyone know how this 'geocoding' method can be done?


That is correct, I had understood that there was a way to get the long/lat for a given individual's event (eg. long/lat of the person's birth).


Return to “Software Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest