Disabling wireless on 881W

Discussions about Internet service providers (ISPs), the Meetinghouse Firewall, wired and wireless networking, usage, management, and support of Meetinghouse Internet
craiggsmith
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:14 pm
Location: South Jordan, Utah

Disabling wireless on 881W

Postby craiggsmith » Sat Oct 22, 2011 3:04 pm

We are doing a stake conference webcast tomorrow and usually disable all other network access as we have limited bandwidth. Facilties just put in a new 881W and I just realized I have no means to disable the wireless. I called support and after quite a wait they finally found someone who knew what I was talking about and agreed that it's something they have to do, but said that they can only do it Mon-Fri. When do they think we use these things?

I guess all I can do now is take off the antennas and hope for the best. I think I want my old firewall back.
Craig
STS
South Jordan, UT

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20734
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Sat Oct 22, 2011 3:20 pm

You could put it in a metal box. Just leave a series of small holes for ventilation.

While I'm sure it was well-intentioned, I think the combined wireless/firewall was a bad idea. Your situation is just one reason. Another is that in many cases, the best place for the firewall isn't the best place for the WAP.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

craiggsmith
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:14 pm
Location: South Jordan, Utah

Postby craiggsmith » Sat Oct 22, 2011 3:45 pm

Yeah, actually I thought about the metal box idea!

And yes, in our building the most convenient place for the firewall is not the best place for the WAP.
Craig
STS
South Jordan, UT

User avatar
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators
Posts: 3131
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:56 am
Location: Layton, UT

Postby Mikerowaved » Sat Oct 22, 2011 9:08 pm

craiggsmith wrote:I guess all I can do now is take off the antennas...

That's all that is needed. It will still have a very tiny bit of range due to RF leakage off the connector, but you'd have to be right on top of it to get a connection.
So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20734
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Sun Oct 23, 2011 3:08 am

Mikerowaved wrote:That's all that is needed. It will still have a very tiny bit of range due to RF leakage off the connector, but you'd have to be right on top of it to get a connection.


You'd think, but paulscherbel has indicated differently.
Have you searched the Wiki?

Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

craiggsmith
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:14 pm
Location: South Jordan, Utah

Postby craiggsmith » Sun Oct 23, 2011 8:43 pm

Removing the antennas worked fine, which surprised me. We have another wireless router of our own and the signal was still strong even after removing the antennas.
Craig
STS
South Jordan, UT

User avatar
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators
Posts: 3131
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:56 am
Location: Layton, UT

Postby Mikerowaved » Sun Oct 23, 2011 10:00 pm

craiggsmith wrote:Removing the antennas worked fine, which surprised me. We have another wireless router of our own and the signal was still strong even after removing the antennas.

That's because the Cisco unit uses a metal case, which acts as a Faraday shield blocking most RF signals from getting in or out. Your other router most likely uses a plastic case, which has no such shielding.
So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.

craiggsmith
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:14 pm
Location: South Jordan, Utah

Postby craiggsmith » Mon Oct 24, 2011 8:10 pm

Mikerowaved wrote:That's because the Cisco unit uses a metal case, which acts as a Faraday shield blocking most RF signals from getting in or out. Your other router most likely uses a plastic case, which has no such shielding.

Good point, yes the other router was plastic, thanks.
Craig
STS
South Jordan, UT


Return to “Meetinghouse Internet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest