Uninstall replaced Firewall from Tech Manager

Discussions about Internet service providers (ISPs), the Meetinghouse Firewall, wired and wireless networking, usage, management, and support of Meetinghouse Internet
User avatar
charly3358
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 3:37 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Uninstall replaced Firewall from Tech Manager

Postby charly3358 » Mon Nov 16, 2015 7:18 am

Is it possible to uninstall a now replaced firewall in Technology Manager?

It just bugs me to see it there in TechManger


881W FTX171483EV (can I uninstall this one?? no longer physically there)
C881W FTX171483HE (currently in use and working fine)


Cheers

:geek: :)

harddrive
Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:52 pm

Re: Uninstall replaced Firewall from Tech Manager

Postby harddrive » Mon Nov 16, 2015 7:50 am

I had to replace a router in one of my buildings. If I remember correctly, I went in and added the new router. The system realized that I was either adding or replacing the existing router. I told the system that I was replacing and it took the old serial number out.

If both are in there, then I think you should call the global service desk and ask them to remove it.

Terry

nelsonfam
Church Employee
Church Employee
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:43 am

Re: Uninstall replaced Firewall from Tech Manager

Postby nelsonfam » Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:44 pm

charly3358 wrote:Is it possible to uninstall a now replaced firewall in Technology Manager?

It just bugs me to see it there in TechManger


881W FTX171483EV (can I uninstall this one?? no longer physically there)
C881W FTX171483HE (currently in use and working fine)


Cheers

:geek: :)


You can deactivate a firewall in the Tools section of TM for the specific firewall you are looking at. Down at the bottom of the page select deactivate, provide your username, and a quick description, then you're done.

User avatar
charly3358
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 3:37 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Uninstall replaced Firewall from Tech Manager

Postby charly3358 » Fri Nov 20, 2015 11:34 am

nelsonfam wrote:
charly3358 wrote:Is it possible to uninstall a now replaced firewall in Technology Manager?

It just bugs me to see it there in TechManger


881W FTX171483EV (can I uninstall this one?? no longer physically there)
C881W FTX171483HE (currently in use and working fine)


Cheers

:geek: :)


You can deactivate a firewall in the Tools section of TM for the specific firewall you are looking at. Down at the bottom of the page select deactivate, provide your username, and a quick description, then you're done.



I can´t see that Deactivate button or link on eiter firewall, the working installed one or the one that`s gone. You sure there should be a link there??, also note that the other buttons on the broken/removed firewall obviously don´t work either, ie the Restart or refresh ones. I´m attaching 2 screen caps of that tools section for the broken one.

Attachments
PicOne Firewall.png
(132.59 KiB) Not downloaded yet
PicTwoFirewall.png
(135.18 KiB) Not downloaded yet

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20779
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Uninstall replaced Firewall from Tech Manager

Postby russellhltn » Fri Nov 20, 2015 12:25 pm

nelsonfam wrote:You can deactivate a firewall in the Tools section of TM for the specific firewall you are looking at. Down at the bottom of the page select deactivate, provide your username, and a quick description, then you're done.

You sure that's available to us? I'm a STS and I don't see that option.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

User avatar
Biggles
Senior Member
Posts: 925
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 4:14 am
Location: Watford, England

Re: Uninstall replaced Firewall from Tech Manager

Postby Biggles » Fri Nov 20, 2015 12:40 pm

russellhltn wrote:
nelsonfam wrote:You can deactivate a firewall in the Tools section of TM for the specific firewall you are looking at. Down at the bottom of the page select deactivate, provide your username, and a quick description, then you're done.

You sure that's available to us? I'm a STS and I don't see that option.

I don't see the option either. I'm also a STS.

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6148
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Re: Uninstall replaced Firewall from Tech Manager

Postby lajackson » Sat Nov 21, 2015 8:00 am

nelsonfam wrote:You can deactivate a firewall in the Tools section of TM for the specific firewall you are looking at.

The GSC will do it for you. They have the skills, and the links, too. [grin]

User avatar
Biggles
Senior Member
Posts: 925
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 4:14 am
Location: Watford, England

Re: Uninstall replaced Firewall from Tech Manager

Postby Biggles » Sat Nov 21, 2015 8:46 am

Biggles wrote:
russellhltn wrote:
nelsonfam wrote:You can deactivate a firewall in the Tools section of TM for the specific firewall you are looking at. Down at the bottom of the page select deactivate, provide your username, and a quick description, then you're done.

You sure that's available to us? I'm a STS and I don't see that option.

I don't see the option either. I'm also a STS.

We had a Webinar today about the use of TM. No mention was made about a deactivation tool.
However the version of TM used in the presentation had an additional item on the home page entitled Tools, but we weren't shown the contents. So it could be that nelsonfam more than likely has access to a version that has additional features that we on the ground don't have!

User avatar
charly3358
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 3:37 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Uninstall replaced Firewall from Tech Manager

Postby charly3358 » Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:35 pm

Probably right, its about the tools we have and don´t have (I´m an STS too and don´t see it)

I´ll try the GSC , because it bugs me to see that firewall there..

nelsonfam
Church Employee
Church Employee
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:43 am

Re: Uninstall replaced Firewall from Tech Manager

Postby nelsonfam » Mon Nov 23, 2015 1:38 pm

charly3358 wrote:Probably right, its about the tools we have and don´t have (I´m an STS too and don´t see it)

I´ll try the GSC , because it bugs me to see that firewall there..



Not sure why the feature is restricted to GSC personnel only so I'll ask about permissions. You can always open a ticket with the GSC and have them do it. Then if something break it's their fault :)...


Return to “Meetinghouse Internet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest