Belkin Wireless Router Behind 881W Firewall No Access

Discussions about Internet service providers (ISPs), the Meetinghouse Firewall, wired and wireless networking, usage, management, and support of Meetinghouse Internet
reevesjeremy
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:40 am

Belkin Wireless Router Behind 881W Firewall No Access

Postby reevesjeremy » Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:44 pm

Using the old Cisco firewall, we didn't have any issues with this Wireless Router receiving Internet to forward wirelessly. However, ever since upgrading to the 881W Firewall, the Belkin N1 (F5D8231-4) router maintains a flashing "Modem" light, indicating an attempt to communicate, but failing to do so.

I have brought this router home to ensure it is still functioning correctly (and it is), but it's some way or another blocked by the firewall.

Has anyone any knowledge of the cause and/or solution for this? Is it a solution Tech Support can solve, or must we change it out with another router?

jdlessley
Community Moderators
Posts: 6526
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:30 pm
Location: USA, TX

Re: Belkin Wireless Router Behind 881W Firewall No Access

Postby jdlessley » Mon Jan 06, 2014 7:20 pm

The first thing to do is turn off the router function (disable DHCP) on the wireless router and use it only as a wireless access point (WAP). The other is to set it up on one of the 881's static IP addresses instead of a dynamic address. The third thing is to connect the cable from the 881 into a port other than the WAN port on the wireless router.
JD Lessley
Have you tried finding your answer on the LDS.org Help Center page or the LDSTech wiki?

reevesjeremy
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:40 am

Re: Belkin Wireless Router Behind 881W Firewall No Access

Postby reevesjeremy » Fri Jan 10, 2014 2:48 pm

Thanks for your response. While that might have worked, I had a hard time keeping connected to the router when I made such changes. In either case, it just started working at some point. I started by plugging it directly into the modem and ensure that it could actually get to the internet. I followed up by plugging it into the Firewall. I don't think it immediately worked, but eventually tinkering with it a lot it did.

I wonder if during my original attempt the ethernet was too far for an initial connection. It was probably 100 ft away. Maybe, maybe not.

In either case, I don't know the specific reason why it started working but now that it is I'm not going to tinker with it anymore. Furthermore it is setup with its own DHCP and not as an AP as you'd suggested and seems to be working fine. (Every time I changed one of these settings I would no longer be able to control or connect.)

Thanks anyway, though I did try your suggestions. :)


Return to “Meetinghouse Internet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest