Sophos Update Failed

Discussions around the setup, operation, replacement, and disposal of clerk computers, not to include using MLS
craiggsmith
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:14 pm
Location: South Jordan, Utah

Sophos Update Failed

Postby craiggsmith » Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:28 pm

I'm getting "Could not contact server" errors with the Sophos AV update and the virus definitions are out of date. A search of previous threads reveals that this has happened a few times and it's been server issues. Anyone else having this problem? I haven't checked any other computers. I can ping the server fine.

I called support but they couldn't tell me what the problem was so I asked them to log an issue.
Craig
STS
South Jordan, UT

jdlessley
Community Moderators
Posts: 6526
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:30 pm
Location: USA, TX

Postby jdlessley » Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:58 pm

For a period of time today there were Church server issues and the Sophos update was a victim. By the time I left the meetinghouse early in the afternoon CST there was no resolution.
JD Lessley
Have you tried finding your answer on the LDS.org Help Center page or the LDSTech wiki?

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14690
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Wed Nov 30, 2011 7:13 pm

I just ran the Sophos update on our stake computer and it worked fine -- I saw that it did download and install some updates, so whatever the server problem may have been seems to be fixed now.
Questions that can benefit the larger community should be asked in a public forum, not a private message.

JamesAnderson
Senior Member
Posts: 748
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 2:03 pm

Postby JamesAnderson » Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:00 pm

On the FHC side of things, no problems here as all ours at the FHC updated right after we turned them on tonight.

Sometimes it will fail for no apparent reason, not even a server glitch. If it happens and you want to force it, look for the blue brick 'U' in the system tray. Right click on that, a menu will pop up, click 'Update Now', and that will also force an update through.

jdlessley
Community Moderators
Posts: 6526
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:30 pm
Location: USA, TX

Postby jdlessley » Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:23 pm

JamesAnderson wrote:Sometimes it will fail for no apparent reason, not even a server glitch. If it happens and you want to force it, look for the blue brick 'U' in the system tray. Right click on that, a menu will pop up, click 'Update Now', and that will also force an update through.
That is the first thing to try. Unfortunately that did not work today when there were server issues. I did three manual updates over a two hour period.
JD Lessley
Have you tried finding your answer on the LDS.org Help Center page or the LDSTech wiki?

craiggsmith
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:14 pm
Location: South Jordan, Utah

Postby craiggsmith » Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:44 pm

Thanks everyone. That's great if it's fixed now, I'll check again later or tomorrow. It would be nice if support were aware of these issues; I actually called them this afternoon and this evening and they had no idea.
Craig
STS
South Jordan, UT

craiggsmith
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:14 pm
Location: South Jordan, Utah

Postby craiggsmith » Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:29 pm

Tried again tonight with the same error, two different computers. Looks like it's down again. Ugh. I wouldn't worry as much but one of the computers is brand new so the virus definitions are either really old or nonexistent, and I want to make sure they are updated before anyone starts using it.
Craig
STS
South Jordan, UT

aclawson
Senior Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:28 pm
Location: Commerce Twp, MI

Postby aclawson » Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:26 pm

FWIW Sophos update ran itself this morning when turned on the machine without any errors.

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6137
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Postby lajackson » Sun Dec 04, 2011 7:40 pm

We took a computer from dialup to DSL Saturday evening and were able to update Sophos with no problem.

craiggsmith
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:14 pm
Location: South Jordan, Utah

Postby craiggsmith » Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:37 pm

Yeah, I was able to update yesterday morning as well.
Craig
STS
South Jordan, UT


Return to “Clerk Computers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest