Workgroup/Domain

Discussions around the setup, operation, replacement, and disposal of clerk computers, not to include using MLS
craiggsmith
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:14 pm
Location: South Jordan, Utah

Workgroup/Domain

Postby craiggsmith » Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:24 pm

The third screen I get when setting up a clerk computer with Windows XP is a prompt for the Workgroup or Domain. I find it odd that it forces me to enter one or the other. Not that it matters, but any consensus on what to enter as a workgroup name? I'm thinking either LDS_CHURCH or the ward or stake name. Just curious.
Craig
STS
South Jordan, UT

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20762
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:19 pm

craiggsmith wrote:I find it odd that it forces me to enter one or the other.


It's a Windows thing.

craiggsmith wrote:Not that it matters, but any consensus on what to enter as a workgroup name? I'm thinking either LDS_CHURCH or the ward or stake name. Just curious.


As you say, it doesn't matter.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

jdlessley
Community Moderators
Posts: 6526
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:30 pm
Location: USA, TX

Postby jdlessley » Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:26 pm

craiggsmith wrote:Not that it matters, but any consensus on what to enter as a workgroup name? I'm thinking either LDS_CHURCH or the ward or stake name. Just curious.
If you don't enter anything then Windows will enter the default "Workgroup" as the workgroup name. Currently administrative computers are not set up for network operations so the name doesn't matter. If at some future time that it becomes necessary to set up a network you can always setup the workgroup or domain along with the associated name using the network setup wizard.
JD Lessley
Have you tried finding your answer on the LDS.org Help Center page or the LDSTech wiki?

craiggsmith
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:14 pm
Location: South Jordan, Utah

Postby craiggsmith » Sun Feb 20, 2011 9:19 pm

The computers I've received don't allow you to go on to the next screen without entering something. I think I'll use the stake or ward name in preparation for a possible network someday. Thanks.
Craig
STS
South Jordan, UT


Return to “Clerk Computers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest