IE Security Error on Startup

Discussions around the setup, operation, replacement, and disposal of clerk computers, not to include using MLS
User avatar
jeromer7
Member
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 11:46 am
Location: Bellevue, Nebraska

IE Security Error on Startup

Postby jeromer7 » Sun Mar 15, 2009 8:09 pm

I have just a few units in the stake running admin computers off the backside of a previously existing Church CCN. All are Optiplex GX270s with Desktop 5.5 installed.

When using Internet Explorer to access the Web, IE gives a warning about security settings with a yellow information banner that can be clicked. Clicking on the banner provides an option to "Fix settings for me..." However, after selecting the "fix me", the same warning occurs the next time IE is started after a reboot. Obviously the settings are not permanently saved. I noticed there is no Security tab in Internet Options.

Haven't seen any posts on this and know there are several broadband installations out there. So, either you have all fixed this or you are living with it. It's a minor annoyance and only a couple of extra clicks, but if it can be fixed...
JLR

jdlessley
Community Moderators
Posts: 6522
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:30 pm
Location: USA, TX

Postby jdlessley » Sun Mar 15, 2009 8:50 pm

Take a look at the Windows Updates on Ward Computersthread.

Have you updated Windows XP or installed IE7? We only experienced the same problems you are having after updating Windows and/or installing IE7.

There are solutions we cannot discuss because we do not have Church approval to upgrade Windows, to install IE7, or to modify Destop 5.5 settings.
JD Lessley
Have you tried finding your answer on the LDS.org Help Center page or the LDSTech wiki?

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14685
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Sun Mar 15, 2009 8:50 pm

JLRose wrote:I have just a few units in the stake running admin computers off the backside of a previously existing Church CCN. All are Optiplex GX270s with Desktop 5.5 installed.

When using Internet Explorer to access the Web, IE gives a warning about security settings with a yellow information banner that can be clicked. Clicking on the banner provides an option to "Fix settings for me..." However, after selecting the "fix me", the same warning occurs the next time IE is started after a reboot. Obviously the settings are not permanently saved. I noticed there is no Security tab in Internet Options.

Haven't seen any posts on this and know there are several broadband installations out there. So, either you have all fixed this or you are living with it. It's a minor annoyance and only a couple of extra clicks, but if it can be fixed...


In our stake center, we are connected to a CCN in an FHC. We don't have GX270s, but we do have Desktop 5.5 installed.

However, we have no such problems. We've never had them. So when you said we either fixed the problem or are living with it, you neglected one other option -- not everyone is experiencing the same problem. I don't know what would be different about your system.

It would be a bit tedious, but you might try looking at your Internet Options (in IE, do Tools > Internet Options) both before and after you let IE fix your settings (taking screen shots may simplify the comparison process). Then you could share with us exactly what settings are causing the warning, and then some of us could check to see if we have the same settings.

User avatar
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators
Posts: 3131
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:56 am
Location: Layton, UT

Postby Mikerowaved » Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:38 pm

I've also run into this error with a GX270 Desktop 5.5 test machine I updated to SP3, IE7, and all current patches. It's been a while, but I believe the error deals with certain JavaScript security settings. IE will let you change the settings for the current session, but the rights to make those changes permanent are disabled by Desktop 5.5, so the warning reappears each time the browser is opened.

My solution was to install Mozilla Firefox. Problem solved. :cool:
So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20721
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Mon Mar 16, 2009 1:48 am

Mikerowaved wrote:I've also run into this error with a GX270 Desktop 5.5 test machine I updated to SP3, IE7, and all current patches.


Me three. So it's something common with this path.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.


Return to “Clerk Computers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest