I think there`s a problem here

Discussions around the setup, operation, replacement, and disposal of clerk computers, not to include using MLS
User avatar
charly3358
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 3:37 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

I think there`s a problem here

Postby charly3358 » Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:54 am

Hi,

Can I add a quick comment? because I think there`s a problem that gsc or the IT people in church don`t seem to know about or see.

What happened was that I moved to another city in Argentina, so I`ve been released as STS. But in my new ward the bishop asked me about work and what I did in my old stake etc ... and then he straight away asked me to help out with his clerk PC because it upgraded to windows 10 but it is still mostly in English even after setting local regional settings to spanish argentina.

I think that people are realizing that there are different versions of Windows in different parent languages, so if you download an image that is English parent lang, ie an "en" iso, you end up with a "start" button, the a "configuration" option and My PC and Control Panel etc, and not the Spanish version ie an "es" iso, where you end up with "inicio" button, "configuracion" and "panel de control" ....

Now EVEN if you change the regional settings to , say, Argentina and Spanish settings, you still have a English windows OS with parent language English and not Spanish. And although we may look at the above and think "they can work it out because Control Panel is very similar to Panel de Control"........ they dont!... local clerks , bishops and counsellors are having problems with this. I found that out when I was a STS in another city and now as a general helper in this new address, which by the way is some 400km away form my former home. It isn´t a problem in only one stake.

Plus the PF people only have software in English, and its seems to be a requirement for employment there to speak english, which is fine, but it doesn`t solve the problem for the clerks and bishoprics, let alone people like RS or Elders Q!

To solve this , all the GSC has to do is download or get from Microsoft the Spanish version windows and post it where the Spanish version mls and sophos links are...I can do several languages with my MS account, and I pay the lowest fee possible, so I´m sure the church can too.... oh, and it doesn´t costs extra to get a "es" image from Microsoft, they don`t add costs if you add another parent language image to your options....so I can`t understand why the church wont do this...

Now I´ve seen two stakes some 400km apart with exactly the same issues, they can`t use all of windows because they don`t understand the parent language menu items , even after setting the local regional settings to Spanish.

I hope there is someone out there in the mormon cyberworld who can at least take a look at putting a "es" iso in lds.org.es or in the local country sites...

cheers,

:shock:

aclawson
Senior Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 6:28 pm
Location: Commerce Twp, MI

Re: I think there`s a problem here

Postby aclawson » Sun Aug 14, 2016 7:57 am


User avatar
charly3358
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 3:37 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: I think there`s a problem here

Postby charly3358 » Mon Aug 15, 2016 2:14 pm

aclawson wrote:You need the Spanish language pack.

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... uage-packs


it doesn't change windows parent language, that's the problem here that folks in gsc don't seem to understand.

So after installing the spanish language pack you still see all menu items in english (ie file edit etc) and start button menu is also in english so they see 'printer' and not 'impresora' which is both confusing and makes the pc somewhat unusable to non-english speakers like bishop , clerk, relief society pres, and so on.

but i guess gsc staff can log in remotely and see an english parent language computer!!

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20750
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: I think there`s a problem here

Postby russellhltn » Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:58 pm

But once you download the language pack, what happens if you change the language in control panel? I don't have a W10 in front of me, but looking at Win7, under "Region and Language", there's some settings under "location" that seems to include language as well.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

User avatar
charly3358
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 3:37 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: I think there`s a problem here

Postby charly3358 » Thu Aug 18, 2016 10:14 pm

russellhltn wrote:But once you download the language pack, what happens if you change the language in control panel? I don't have a W10 in front of me, but looking at Win7, under "Region and Language", there's some settings under "location" that seems to include language as well.


that doesn't solve it. It changes some basic things, like your browser defaults to a spanish language as does lds.org, but the parent language of the OS stays the same...ie you still see a 'Start" button and not an 'Inicio" button, and the menu's are all in english and in start you come up with 'Settings" instead of 'configuracion' and 'Printers" instead of "Impresora" .... they are all governed by the parent language of the OS and one needs to actually get a spanish language OS to solve this, but neither the gsc nor the local physical facilities people downloaded an windows version in Spanish...they only use English OS...

User avatar
sbradshaw
Senior Member
Posts: 2485
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:42 pm
Location: Provo, UT
Contact:

Re: I think there`s a problem here

Postby sbradshaw » Sun Aug 21, 2016 4:30 pm

There's an extended process here – maybe it would work?
http://www.windowscentral.com/how-properly-change-system-default-language-windows-10
Samuel Bradshaw • Interested in church apps and sites, creative recordkeeping, clerk support, YSA wards and stakes, LDS music, Vineyard at BYU, and online service.

User avatar
charly3358
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 3:37 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: I think there`s a problem here

Postby charly3358 » Sun Aug 21, 2016 8:37 pm

yeap,..that did the trick..thanks, ...turns out that from win10 they allow change of system default language...so yes, thanks :)

now only the gsc staff needs to know about this so that people in non english speaking areas can change windows parent language or system default language easily,...makes their computer more user friendly and more useful overall.

cheers,

:geek: :D


Return to “Clerk Computers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest