New Computer Setup intel ATM incompatible

Discussions around the setup, operation, replacement, and disposal of clerk computers, not to include using MLS
CMSlemp3
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:18 am

New Computer Setup intel ATM incompatible

Postby CMSlemp3 » Thu Mar 20, 2014 3:30 pm

I'm installing new PCs in many of our units, as 7 of them are 10 years old. I started on the 1st two today. I am also getting a message that Intel Active Management Technology is not compatible with this version of Windows (Windows 7 Pro). I looked for it to uninstall intel AMT, but couldn't find it. I checked the MS sites for bug-fixes, but the only one that seemed to apply required entering a SQL server name in a dialog box. Couldn't find that, either. What's up with this?

It would really be nice if these PCs were shipped with the recommended software pre-configured. Then problems like this can be identified and fixed at the front end. As Dr. W. Edwards Deming taught, Total Quality Management (TQM) starts at production and fixing problems becomes more expensive (in time, materials and customer satisfaction) down the distribution chain.

User avatar
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators
Posts: 3131
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:56 am
Location: Layton, UT

Re: New Computer Setup intel ATM incompatible

Postby Mikerowaved » Fri Mar 21, 2014 12:29 am

CMSlemp3 wrote:I'm installing new PCs in many of our units...

What's the make/model of the new ones? It's possible CHQ has an image for it that was left off by the vender prior to shipping.
So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.

craiggsmith
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:14 pm
Location: South Jordan, Utah

Re: New Computer Setup intel ATM incompatible

Postby craiggsmith » Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:36 am

This question should probably be moved to a new thread ....

CMSlemp3 wrote:I'm installing new PCs in many of our units, as 7 of them are 10 years old. I started on the 1st two today. I am also getting a message that Intel Active Management Technology is not compatible with this version of Windows (Windows 7 Pro). I looked for it to uninstall intel AMT, but couldn't find it. I checked the MS sites for bug-fixes, but the only one that seemed to apply required entering a SQL server name in a dialog box. Couldn't find that, either. What's up with this?

I would just call support. (I've noticed the menu options have changed, and there is no clear local unit tech support option. You have to press option 2 for ecclesiastical leaders.)

CMSlemp3 wrote:It would really be nice if these PCs were shipped with the recommended software pre-configured. Then problems like this can be identified and fixed at the front end. As Dr. W. Edwards Deming taught, Total Quality Management (TQM) starts at production and fixing problems becomes more expensive (in time, materials and customer satisfaction) down the distribution chain.

This has been discussed before. Unfortunately we are free labor, so our costs and frustration are not factored into it. The machines are better than they used to be though.

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14689
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: New Computer Setup intel ATM incompatible

Postby aebrown » Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:09 am

craiggsmith wrote:This question should probably be moved to a new thread ....

Good suggestion. I have split this new discussion from the topic New Computer Setup.

Mikerowaved wrote:
CMSlemp3 wrote:I'm installing new PCs in many of our units...

What's the make/model of the new ones? It's possible CHQ has an image for it that was left off by the vender prior to shipping.

I can't speak for CMSlemp3, but last week our stake received new computers, which were Dell Optiplex 7010 desktops, with Intel i3 CORE processors. I have done the initial setup on all of them, and never encountered any issues at all with Intel ATM.


Return to “Clerk Computers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest