Sophos blocking DNS with reason of "Memory Modified"

Discussions around the setup, operation, replacement, and disposal of clerk computers, not to include using MLS
User avatar
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 2:11 pm
Location: Richmond, VA, USA

Sophos blocking DNS with reason of "Memory Modified"

Postby sj3vans » Sat Jul 06, 2013 8:04 am

I have had 3 clerk computers (running Sophos) suddenly lose access to the Internet. Upon further analysis and calls to support, we found that Sophos is blocking DNS requests with a reason of "Memory Modified". One support person had me disable the firewall as a work around. Not good. I found that I was able to turn it back on by disabling the "Memory Modified" check. I'd rather not do that either but its better than running with no firewall. I thought that perhaps there was a virus but I have not been able to locate one with different scanning programs (aside from Sophos which is also not reporting anything else) nor am i seeing any other signs that there is one. Still something odd must be causing it as its only been seen on 3 units' computers (in different buildings). Any ideas? Thanks.

User avatar
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 10:05 am
Location: Chandler, AZ USA

Re: Sophos blocking DNS with reason of "Memory Modified"

Postby jtwitchell » Sun Jul 07, 2013 8:36 am

May not be a big issue, but something to look at. Sophos recommends this: to look and see what applications are causing the issue. I found it interesting that they said in the article "Disabling this feature will not compromise the endpoint protection level when suspicious behaviour has been enabled in Sophos Anti-Virus." Still, it is safer to check and maybe run a different antivirus as a check.

New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 1:48 pm

Re: Sophos blocking DNS with reason of "Memory Modified"

Postby sokly » Mon Jul 08, 2013 10:07 am

The Sophos KB provided by jtwitchell does provide the solution to the problem. Additionally, I would like to know what applicaiton is being blocked by Sophos to prevent DNS from working properly if you're able to find out.

Return to “Clerk Computers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest