Passwordless Administrator Account

Discussions around the setup, operation, replacement, and disposal of clerk computers, not to include using MLS
kenrlaird
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 3:50 pm

Passwordless Administrator Account

Postby kenrlaird » Sun Jun 16, 2013 3:33 pm

I'm setting up new clerk computers, following the procedure in the "Setting Up a New Clerk Computer" document. I setup the Clerk account, per that document. We recently discovered that the "Administrator" account on these new Dell computers does not have a password set. Should I be disabling that account or adding a password to prevent accidental use?

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20781
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Passwordless Administrator Account

Postby russellhltn » Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:21 pm

Just to be clear, are you able to log into the Administrator account without a password? The reason I ask is that Win7 seems a little quirky and tends to reserve "Administrator" for it's own process.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6149
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Re: Passwordless Administrator Account

Postby lajackson » Sun Jun 16, 2013 7:22 pm

kenrlaird wrote:I'm setting up new clerk computers, following the procedure in the "Setting Up a New Clerk Computer" document. I setup the Clerk account, per that document. We recently discovered that the "Administrator" account on these new Dell computers does not have a password set. Should I be disabling that account or adding a password to prevent accidental use?

I have not seen any specific instructions on this. Our STS sets a simple password and keeps a record of it so someone will not go wandering around on the computer, and in case something happens to the main account used by the Clerk.

User avatar
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators
Posts: 3133
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:56 am
Location: Layton, UT

Re: Passwordless Administrator Account

Postby Mikerowaved » Sun Jun 16, 2013 8:04 pm

kenrlaird wrote:Should I be disabling that account or adding a password to prevent accidental use?

The Administrator account in Windows 7 defaults to being disabled and hidden. Is it possible that someone there might have changed the status to active?

To disable the account (recommended), open a CMD window with Admin privileges and type the following:

net user administrator /active:no
So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.

kenrlaird
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 3:50 pm

Re: Passwordless Administrator Account

Postby kenrlaird » Mon Jun 17, 2013 10:53 am

The Administrator account really doesn't have a password.
No, it has not been automatically disabled. It shows up on every one of the 7 new computers I have installed when I reboot at the end of the Sophos install.
Thanks for the command. I will disable the Administrator account on these machines as I get the opportunity.


Return to “Clerk Computers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest