Unable to select a Destination Unit

Discuss questions around local unit policies for membership (creating records, transferring records, etc.) This forum should not contain specific financial or membership information.
simataas
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 10:22 am

Unable to select a Destination Unit

Postby simataas » Thu Sep 28, 2017 9:13 pm

I am trying to move members out. I have the correct address, but a list of Destination Units is not generated in a drop-down list like I've seen before.

No_Drop_Down_List.png
(39.17 KiB) Not downloaded yet


I know the proper Ward and when I search for and select it it shows up in the search bar. Clicking on Continue results in a warning message: "Are you sure you want to perform the move without specifying a new unit? The records will remain in your unit for up to 72 hours while headquarters processes the move request."

Warning.png
(52.18 KiB) Not downloaded yet


Does anyone know what I can do to properly move these records?

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 22856
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Unable to select a Destination Unit

Postby russellhltn » Thu Sep 28, 2017 9:19 pm

I tend to suspect that the address falls "between the cracks" in how the units were specified. I'd go ahead and move it.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

User avatar
sbradshaw
Senior Member
Posts: 3443
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:42 pm
Location: Provo, UT
Contact:

Re: Unable to select a Destination Unit

Postby sbradshaw » Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:16 am

Did the search bar have an auto-complete as you were typing? Sometimes with auto-complete you have to click the option from the list to select it, instead of typing the full name without clicking on the list item. I don't know specifically in this case, but I've seen that on other forms.
Samuel Bradshaw • If you desire to serve God, you are called to the work.

simataas
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 10:22 am

Re: Unable to select a Destination Unit

Postby simataas » Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:35 am

Yes, I select the Unit as soon as it shows up (it shows up after typing just four letters in the searchbar). However, after clicking the whole Unit name just appears in the searchbar. It doesn't seem to be truly selected. Further clicking on the Unit or the search magnifying glass does nothing. Clicking Continue results in a warning that no Unit has been selected.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 22856
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Unable to select a Destination Unit

Postby russellhltn » Fri Sep 29, 2017 10:17 am

Just for kicks and giggles, what happens if you type that address into maps.lds.org? Is it able to select the unit? Is it able to place the location? It might be an added clue.
Have you searched the Wiki?

Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

simataas
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 10:22 am

Re: Unable to select a Destination Unit

Postby simataas » Fri Sep 29, 2017 10:28 am

I used the meeting house locator on LDS.org to verify the proper Unit. It had no trouble recognizing or placing the address or identifying the Unit.

User avatar
sbradshaw
Senior Member
Posts: 3443
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:42 pm
Location: Provo, UT
Contact:

Re: Unable to select a Destination Unit

Postby sbradshaw » Fri Sep 29, 2017 10:54 am

I wonder if it would behave the same in a different browser.
Samuel Bradshaw • If you desire to serve God, you are called to the work.

simataas
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 10:22 am

Re: Unable to select a Destination Unit

Postby simataas » Fri Sep 29, 2017 11:59 am

I have tried several devices (Ward PC, personal LapTop, Samsung Galaxy S8+, Samsung Galaxy J7) and every browser I have (Chrome for Windows, Chrome for Android, Firefox, IE, Dolphin Browser for Android). Nothing works. I have successfully moved previous records out on 3 of the 4 listed devices using IE, Chrome & Dolphin Browser, respectively.

The issue seems to be related to the fact that for this specific address the system does not return a pick list of Units to select and searching manually doesn't work (even though the right Unit can be found in the searchbar). Unknown is why maps.lds.org can find the address but the Move Members Out utility on Leader and Clerk Resources cannot. Also unknown is why manually searching for a Unit and selecting it does not work.

User avatar
sbradshaw
Senior Member
Posts: 3443
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:42 pm
Location: Provo, UT
Contact:

Re: Unable to select a Destination Unit

Postby sbradshaw » Fri Sep 29, 2017 12:52 pm

It might be good to send feedback to the Leader and Clerk Resources team reporting the issue. It sounds like a bug – either that the ward doesn't actually get selected in the process, or that it does get selected but the system gives you a warning that it wasn't.
Samuel Bradshaw • If you desire to serve God, you are called to the work.

simataas
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 10:22 am

Re: Unable to select a Destination Unit

Postby simataas » Fri Sep 29, 2017 1:00 pm

Is that done by clicking on "Do You Have Feedback on This Page?" or is there another contact option?


Return to “Membership Help”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest