Simple question - what is the correct way to assign DC charges to budget categories

Discuss questions around local unit policies for budgeting, reconciling, etc. This forum should not contain specific financial or membership information.
denlocke
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 4:10 pm

Simple question - what is the correct way to assign DC charges to budget categories

Postby denlocke » Sun Jul 31, 2011 4:26 pm

In trying to figure out what is happening with our budget, I've come across some things in our MLS that is having me question the way we've been assigning expenses to budget categories, particularly those from the Distribution Center. When a DC charge shows up in the Expense report, I have been clicking on it, and in the Category window, I would choose a budget category that the expense should come out of. Is this the correct way to allocate the expense?

What is happening, is that the we are getting duplicate expenses kicked back after the change is sent. For example, we had a distribution charge of $13.00. I assigned it in this fashion to Budget:YM. Now when I look at that transaction, I see:

DC Charge $13.00 sent (original item showing up in system)
Adjustment by user (me): $0 sent
Adjustment by user (no username specified): $13 cleared
Adjustment by user (no username specified): -$13 cleared

so now when I open the original item, in the Category window I see:
Budget: YM $26
Budget: Distribution Center Charges $-13

So somehow it's doubled and now in my budget report my Expenses column of Distribution Center Charges is a positive number. I do plan on getting a hold of our Stake Finance Clerk for some training but there has been a recent changeover and I'm in limbo at the moment. Any tips in the meantime would be greatly appreciated!

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20781
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Sun Jul 31, 2011 4:42 pm

Is this the same bug reported in this thread?
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

denlocke
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 4:10 pm

Postby denlocke » Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:21 pm

RussellHltn wrote:Is this the same bug reported in this thread?



That's exactly what's been happening. Glad to know I'm not missing something simple. Thanks!

crislapi
Senior Member
Posts: 1265
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:05 pm
Location: USA

Postby crislapi » Sun Jul 31, 2011 10:00 pm

You might also see this thread. I'll mention I prefer to use a transfer instead of recategorizing the expense. That way, I can add a purpose to indicate what was purchased, and because it's a transfer, I don't experience any of the problems associated with this bug.


Return to “Local Unit Finance”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest