Fractional Currency?

Discuss questions around local unit policies for budgeting, reconciling, etc. This forum should not contain specific financial or membership information.
User avatar
ckmcdonald
Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:33 pm
Location: Middleton, ID, USA (near Boise)

Fractional Currency?

Postby ckmcdonald » Mon Jun 06, 2011 12:12 pm

In MLS, when entering donations, the "Currency" entry will accept a fractional dollar amount when, at least in the US, there is no such thing as currency less than a dollar,... that I know of anyway.

Why does MLS accept fractional amounts for currency?
Is this for currencies outside the US?

Seems MLS shouldn't allow fractional entries for Currency.

crislapi
Senior Member
Posts: 1265
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:05 pm
Location: USA

Postby crislapi » Mon Jun 06, 2011 8:28 pm

For clarification, this is in the authorization screen when verifying a donation batch, correct? When you click on the checks, and then enter the currency and coin totals?

As for why, I can't answer that. From a programming perspective, they probably just implemented the same code in that field as anywhere else (like in the coin field, which can be fractional). Agreed that it shouldn't, but then again, when counting your currency, you really can't count a fractional amount either. The only reason one would be entered is a typo.

User avatar
ckmcdonald
Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 10:33 pm
Location: Middleton, ID, USA (near Boise)

Postby ckmcdonald » Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:20 pm

crislapi wrote:For clarification, this is in the authorization screen when verifying a donation batch, correct? When you click on the checks, and then enter the currency and coin totals?


No, not the authorization screen.... in the form when entering each individual donation. There's a place for Checks, Currency and Coin. The Currency entry will accept fractional dollar amounts. My attention is called to it occasionally when I erroneously enter a sum there for coins (most commonly happens on fast Sunday when my blood sugar is low and my brain is running 1/2 speed :) ). It gets caught at the conclusion of the batch when the Check, Currency and Coin recount occurs.

Admittedly, this is a minor thing. It just seems odd that the simple bit of code needed to disallow fractional entries hasn't been added. I keep wondering if there is a reason for legitimate fractional amounts and I just can't think what it would be.

User avatar
mfmohlma
Senior Member
Posts: 784
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:45 pm
Location: Hillsboro, OR

Postby mfmohlma » Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:19 pm

Been there done that.

The only thing I can guess is that it's easier for some other currencies to use a common code base.


Return to “Local Unit Finance”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest