Employee Spotlight: David Torgerson

Discuss the feature articles on the Tech Home Page.
McDanielCA

Employee Spotlight: David Torgerson

Post by McDanielCA »

Question

What do you do at the Church?

Answer

I am a security engineer for the Family History department, working on the new FamilySearch site. I spend most of my time making sure that our layered approach to security is functioning correctly, and looking for ways to improve our site security.

Question

What role do you think Web site security plays in the Church organization and to the public?

Answer

Working for the Church has been interesting. Instead of working on protecting trade secrets or financial information, I focus on protecting sacred ordinance information and user information while providing a way to make most data public. I have been involved in an initiative to collaborate and share data with external organizations. We have many affiliates, and even more in the approval process. Working with affiliates has introduced many exciting and interesting security challenges, but we try to adhere to as many industry security standards as possible.

Question

How important do you feel it is for Church Web sites and applications to adhere to security standards?

Answer

Outside of Church employment, if protected data is stolen or misused it usually results in a fine. Due to the nature of the data the Church is protecting, stolen or misused data could result in not just a fine, but it could also mean that an individual searching for the truth may turn away because of bad publicity. We have security standards and policies to make sure we are protecting the data with which we have been entrusted and to protect the reputation of the Church.

Question

How do you think security is different for Church Web sites?

Answer