Page 1 of 1

Sign In menu issue for Firefox

Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 12:30 pm
by jdlessley
The LDS.org sign in menu and title does not change after signing in. Sign in is successful as noted when an application title is clicked and the application opens and shows as signed in and not opening the LDS Account sign in page. To get the "[User Name]/Tools" menu requires a tab reload.

This is an issue only for Firefox. I do not see this in IE8 or Chrome.

Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:19 pm
by jdlessley
This issue appears to now be fixed.

Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:26 pm
by TinMan
I believe it is intermittent. I have noticed it off an on for a few weeks.

Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:40 pm
by jdlessley
I reported it only because I had seen it since yesterday afternoon. I figured that it was time to report it.

Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:06 am
by jdlessley
The issue is back again. I can't find anything on the user end that affects the behavior. I have cleared the browser cache and deleted all cookies with no affect.

Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 1:55 pm
by aebrown
jdlessley wrote:The issue is back again. I can't find anything on the user end that affects the behavior. I have cleared the browser cache and deleted all cookies with no affect.


I'm curious how you're signing in. Are you:

  • Clicking the "Sign In/Tools" link on the LDS.org home page and then clicking the "Sign In" button on the dropdown?
  • Clicking the "Sign In/Tools" link on LDS.org and then clicking one of the applications (e.g., Calendar), which then brings up the Sign In page? In this case, you will land on some other LDS.org page after signing in.

Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 5:44 pm
by jdlessley
Clicking the "Sign In/Tools" link on the LDS.org home page and then clicking the "Sign In" button on the dropdown.

Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:59 pm
by aebrown
jdlessley wrote:Clicking the "Sign In/Tools" link on the LDS.org home page and then clicking the "Sign In" button on the dropdown.


Well, I use Firefox as well, and I very often sign in that exact way. But I've never seen the problem you describe. I don't have any theories as to what would be different in your case, since you've already taken all the steps I would have suggested.

Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:54 pm
by jdlessley
The issue is really quite unpredictable as to when it is going to behave that way. One session after I last posted things were working correctly. I just now checked and the issue is back, again!