BYU TV on Mobile Phone

Discussions around miscellaneous technologies and projects for the general membership.
jviola
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 10:51 am
Location: Bowling Green, OH 43402

BYU TV on Mobile Phone

Postby jviola » Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:16 am

I have windows mobile 6.1 and when I connect to http://www.byutv.org/streaming/byutv250b.asx the shelfreliance commercial is full screen, but when byutv starts afterwards it comes in only at 32kbps and is a small little square in my full screen. Is there a way to increase the bandwidth to mobile phone or send a larger version. Actually, my preference would be to get byu tv using move networks, but I guess there isn't a plugin for windows mobile.

Let me know how I can improve the quality or get it to work with move network?

Thanks,
Jeff

JamesAnderson
Senior Member
Posts: 748
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 2:03 pm

Postby JamesAnderson » Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:01 pm

I tried it with my PC with Win2k SP4 and it says it needs a Win XP install on a i386 or compatible machine (such as those with AMD processors on them).

kennethjorgensen
Community Moderators
Posts: 414
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:29 am
Location: Alnwick, UK

Postby kennethjorgensen » Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:11 am

I tested the link on my HTC Touch running Windows Mobile 6 Professional and the commercial starts in Media Player and I myself can switch it to fullscreen and the quality there looks like.
When the live feed starts mine also switches to 32 Kbps but it starts in normal mode and again I can switch it to fullscreen if I want, although the quality is rather poor with that speed even on a mobile phone.

Have you checked your settings in the Media Player under Menu -> Options -> Video ?

It would be nice if the BUYTV live link would stream in something more than the 32 kbps since the mobile networks can deal with much better than and Windows Mobile devices often use wireless connections via a router.

jviola
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 10:51 am
Location: Bowling Green, OH 43402

I can get it to work in windows media, but really small

Postby jviola » Sun Dec 28, 2008 7:09 pm

I can get it to work now, but the picture is so small. Is there a way to increase the size?

Thanks,

jviola
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 10:51 am
Location: Bowling Green, OH 43402

Postby jviola » Wed Dec 31, 2008 8:54 am

Yes. I did check my settings and the 0nly option is to run in fullscreen mode or not. What I'm saying is in full screen mode it is too small to see. It doesn't fill up the screen. I have a lot of room to spare.


Return to “Other Member Technologies”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest