Move Media Player doesn't work with MS Vista

Discussions around miscellaneous technologies and projects for the general membership.
doylea

Move Media Player doesn't work with MS Vista

Post by doylea »

I have been using the Move Media Player successfully for at least 2 years to view BYUTV (www.byu.tv) on both Win2000 and WinXP computers. Initially I was excited to see that the lds.org site is using it to broadcast General Conference. So, I installed the Move Media Player on my new Vista (Ultimate) computer. However, when trying to view the video feed, my browser window locked up completely. It does not matter which video feed I try (byu.tv, lds.org, movenetworks.com test), none of them work. I have tried several things to get it to work:

- uninstalled Move Media Player and reinstalled
- disabled all anti-virus and software firewall programs
- disabled Aero as suggested in the FAQ
- installed the old version of the Move Media Player and tried the old feed at byu.tv
- updated the Java runtime on my computer (one of the Vista forums suggested this)

I believe this to be an issue only with Vista, because I have a WinXP machine with the latest version of the Move Media Player that works without issue. As it is becoming more and more difficult for the average home user to purchase a Windows computer with WinXP, I believe that the Move Media Player incompatibility is a serious issue that needs to be addressed rather quickly. I am not the only one experiencing issues with this. I have done several Google searches for "move media player vista" and found many users with problems to report, but no workable solutions. I have also attempted to get the attention of Move Networks by sending e-mail to them, but they are unresponsive.

Anybody care to work on this?
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators

Post by Mikerowaved »