YouthMaster

Discussions around miscellaneous technologies and projects for the general membership.
mattfarley

YouthMaster

Post by mattfarley »

Last year I was called to be Young Men's Secretary and inherited a mess of spreadsheets (mostly outdated). As a software developer by trade, I knew there was a much better way to do this.

I began work on YouthMaster.org during Christmas of last year, and initially it was just for our ward (who loved it). I have now re-released it as Version 2.0 which supports almost-unlimited-wards which can be spawned at the drop of a hat.

YouthMaster Features:
+ YM Duty to God Tracking
+ YW Personal Progress Tracking
+ Scout Advancement
+ Attendance

All four of those are modules that can be turned on / off by the ward admin(s). In addition to the core functionality, YouthMaster provides a number of extremely useful tools, such as:
+ Interactive Housing Maps
+ Mass Emails by Quorum / Class
+ Duty to God Certificates
+ Custom Reporting Engine (with email subscriptions)
+ Private Ward File Libraries (share documents, PowerPoints, etc)

Please have a look at the short video demonstration -- there's a lot of nice UI (AJAX) functionality that makes it dead simple to use. If your ward is interested in using YouthMaster just follow the directions on the FAQ (it's free)!

http://demo.youthmaster.org/
russellhltn
Community Administrator

Post by russellhltn »

Very impressive! I hope the church developers of LUWS 2.0 watch your demo. I'm sure they'll come away with ideas.

Since you're new to the forum, have you had a chance to look over some of the discussions we've had about web sites? Given the amount of information stored on your website, I think it will raise a red flag as far as placing information on a 3rd party web site. (Maybe not so much an issue for you since it's your site, but an issue of any other ward wanting to join.)
mkmurray

Post by mkmurray »