Hardware related projects??

Discussions around miscellaneous technologies and projects for the general membership.
jaj1

Hardware related projects??

Post by jaj1 »

I recently learned of the LDSTech site. I am intrigued by the ideas being generated here and I am interested in helping.

My background is in electrical engineering. I design hardware for embedded systems and have very limited software development experience. Although I do maintain a HTML based family website and missionary meal calendar for the 3 sets of missionaries in our ward.

Most of the projects I see in the forums and in the Projects section of the site are very software-centric. I acknowledge that an environment like this is more conducive to software development, but are there any plans to start projects with new hardware elements?

Is there an infrastructure in place that would support new project suggestions that involve the development of new hardware? I understand that this opens up a can of worms when it comes to schematic capture and layout tool licensing and file formats; not to mention design specifications, component selection, firmware development, and system integration.

-James
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators

Post by Mikerowaved »

Welcome to the forum! WOO HOO! Another hardware Engineer! :)

OK, now that the celebrations are over, I don't know of any hardware oriented projects open for public input, but I don't work for the Church either, so please don't take that as a definitive answer. Perhaps someone closer to the Church's inner workings would be willing to shed some light.

Mike
So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.
WelchTC

Post by WelchTC »

If you have some good ideas, post them on these forums. We would love to hear them.

Tom
hpaulsen

Post by hpaulsen »