How to Share a MS PowerPoint presentation while we are broadcasting...

Conversations around originating a webcast for conference, including cameras and mixers.
menendezrd
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:39 pm

How to Share a MS PowerPoint presentation while we are broadcasting...

Postby menendezrd » Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:44 pm

We are going to use this tool this weekend, but the speaker for this FPE Fireside will present a powerpoint file during his talk, how can we share the presentation by this tool? Because if we do it by the simple camera maybe we are going to lose quality in the image of slides.

michaelfish
Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Gilbert, AZ USA

Postby michaelfish » Sat Aug 20, 2011 4:06 am

Let me see if I understand your question correctly. Do you want to send a PowerPoint presentation from a laptop to another device such as a TV or Webcast Communicator?

If so, you can convert the VGA monitor output (15 pin) of a laptop to standard video (composite or S-video) by using a Scan Converter. These relatively inexpensive devices can be found on eBay (see http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l2736&_nkw=vga+to+video+scan+converter for examples).

A scan converter takes the laptop's VGA output and converts it to standard composite video which can then be connected directly to a TV or Webcast Communitcator composite video (yellow) input, S-Video input, or other video device, resulting in a much higher quality picture than by just using a camera pointed to a screen.

To switch from your video camera feed to the scan converter's feed, you can use a video switch (http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p3984.m570.l1313&_nkw=video+switch&_sacat=See-All-Categories) or video mixer (preferred see: http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_nkw=videonics+mx-1&_sacat=0&_odkw=mx-1&_osacat=0&_trksid=p3286.c0.m270.l1313)

craiggsmith
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:14 pm
Location: South Jordan, Utah

Postby craiggsmith » Sun Aug 21, 2011 11:34 am

This discussion is very timely for me. I have one other question though -- my laptop has both an s-video and a VGA output. Does anyone know if it is possible to use both at the same time? I was hoping this would eliminate the need for a scan converter, but I played with it a bit last night and couldn't get it to work.
Craig
STS
South Jordan, UT

Aczlan
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 4:29 pm
Location: Upstate, NY, USA

Postby Aczlan » Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:43 pm

You probbaly can, but it will require setting all 3 displays (Laptop Screen, VGA Out and S-Video Out) to 480i resolution (~640x480) which may look odd on a projector.

Aaron Z

craiggsmith
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:14 pm
Location: South Jordan, Utah

Postby craiggsmith » Sun Aug 21, 2011 1:58 pm

Thanks, yeah, that wouldn't look that great on the main screen.
Craig
STS
South Jordan, UT

michaelfish
Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Gilbert, AZ USA

Postby michaelfish » Sun Aug 21, 2011 6:19 pm

The ability to use multiple video outputs from your laptop depends on the laptop and associated display drivers.

A quick, easy solution would be to use a video distribution amplifier. There are several advantages to using one...1) the memory of the laptop's video can be utilized higher resolution because it is running less displays, 2) most distribution amplifiers have 3 outputs so a monitor, projector and building can easily be connected, 3) some units amplify composite video as well as S-Video (either S-Video or composite input and double the number of outputs). These can usually be purchased from $10 to $30 (see http://www.amazon.com/Composite-S-Video-Distribution-Amplifier-Splitter/dp/B003CMDGJK/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1313983846&sr=8-2.)

craiggsmith
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 2:14 pm
Location: South Jordan, Utah

Postby craiggsmith » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:25 pm

I have a VDA but it only has composite and s-video; I'll have to look for others. Thanks.
Craig
STS
South Jordan, UT

blakehendriksen
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 6:31 am

Scan Converter

Postby blakehendriksen » Sun Oct 09, 2011 6:40 am

Hello, I work for a company that does a lot of Audio Video work for the church, in meeting houses, and even in buildings like the conference center, etc...
Scan Converter are not relatively inexpensive as someone previously posted. The cheap ones are inexpensive, but if you want one that will look really good, and not have any scrolling lines, you can easily spend from $800-$2000. These are the ones that are being put into new stake centers.
http://www.extron.com/product/product.aspx?id=vsc500&s=5

Also you do NOT need to make the computers resolution 640x480, most scan converters will accept 1024x768 which is a 4x3 aspect ratio, some will do higher resolutions as well but be mindful of how small the font is, as well as the aspect ratio as a scan converter will NOT change aspect ratio.
-Blake H
Professional Audio Video Technician

harddrive
Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:52 pm

Postby harddrive » Mon Oct 10, 2011 5:15 am

craiggsmith wrote:This discussion is very timely for me. I have one other question though -- my laptop has both an s-video and a VGA output. Does anyone know if it is possible to use both at the same time? I was hoping this would eliminate the need for a scan converter, but I played with it a bit last night and couldn't get it to work.


Craig, I have a laptop that has S-video, VGA and the main monitor. I can only use two of the three screens at any one time. However, I have use the S-video out to put pictures to a VCR and it has worked like a champ. The one issue that I see is getting the presentation on to the screen.

I guess that is we have an "old" stake center, we would have to purchase the scan converter?

michaelfish
Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Gilbert, AZ USA

Postby michaelfish » Wed Oct 12, 2011 5:23 pm

BTW, I have found that connecting the laptop to the scan converter and then connecting the scan converter to the projector has resulted in a loss of picture quality on the projector.

I found that connecting from the computer to the projector (VGA) and using the monitor out jack (VGA) on the back of the projector to connect to the scan converter results in a picture that looks very good and has no scrolling lines.


Return to “Webcasting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest