Visual audio meter not working, but audio is being broadcast

Conversations around originating a webcast for conference, including cameras and mixers.
brettbkg
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:42 pm
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT

Visual audio meter not working, but audio is being broadcast

Postby brettbkg » Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:15 pm

I recently purchased a Windows 7 home x64 system, and I'm trying to get Meetinghouse Webcast set up on it. I'm using Meetinghouse v. 2.1 with the 64 bit WM Encoder (with much thanks to one of you who helped me find the WMEx64).

In my test broadcasts, the broadcast is received fine with video and audio, however, on the broadcasting end (my end), the visual audio meter isn't working. So yes, the audio is being sent out, I just get no indication on my end of it how loud the audio input is. I like to be able to see the audio input level to make sure it's not too quiet or too loud that it's going to be distorted.

As it stands now, I'm sure I can get it to work, just not with the ease I did before on my old laptop (which would periodically freeze broadcasting, so that's not much of a better option).

Has anyone else out there experienced this? Any great solutions?

Thanks y'all.

Aczlan
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 4:29 pm
Location: Upstate, NY, USA

Postby Aczlan » Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:28 pm

brettbkg wrote:In my test broadcasts, the broadcast is received fine with video and audio, however, on the broadcasting end (my end), the visual audio meter isn't working. So yes, the audio is being sent out, I just get no indication on my end of it how loud the audio input is. I like to be able to see the audio input level to make sure it's not too quiet or too loud that it's going to be distorted.
As it stands now, I'm sure I can get it to work, just not with the ease I did before on my old laptop (which would periodically freeze broadcasting, so that's not much of a better option).
Has anyone else out there experienced this? Any great solutions?

I have seen this every time we have run a broadcast. I think that it is a bug in the software on Windows 7.
If you right click on the speaker icon down by the clock and click on "Recording Devices" you will get a list of the input devices on the system and show their audio levels.

Aaron Z

brettbkg
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:42 pm
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT

Postby brettbkg » Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:13 pm

Many thanks. I'll try it out that way. Yesterday, I just opened up a broadcast on the computer while it was broadcasting to check the sound levels. You can't exactly do volume changes and see immediate results with the delay, but it wasn't a big deal. I think it'll work better that way though. Thanks for the help (again)!


Return to “Webcasting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest