Best Cable Coax or s-video/Cat5

Conversations around originating a webcast for conference, including cameras and mixers.
Paulbb1
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 10:28 am
Location: Saline, MI

Best Cable Coax or s-video/Cat5

Postby Paulbb1 » Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:20 pm

We have a Sony camera on it's way and plan to install in the chapel over the 3rd clerks office. I want to take a cable from there through the wall, through the second floor to the Media Library where we have sound and Ethernet for the PC capture card.

I want the best video signal and therefore want s-video but it is a long way to the library. Maybe over 100 feet? The composite video will reach but not as good of images.

Anyone have any experience using the S-video cat5 adapter? Are the balun devices like Muxlab S-Video Balun (500016) best to use with the Cat5 cable?

SheffieldTR
Community Moderators
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:44 am
Location: Utah, USA

Postby SheffieldTR » Thu Sep 17, 2009 11:56 am

We have run S-video for 100' many times with no loss in picture. Does this building have an "In-house Video distribution system?" If you use that then you get the picture everywhere else in the building that you will need and then also take that picture at the Satellite cabinet. Just a thought.
Troy

Paulbb1
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 10:28 am
Location: Saline, MI

S-Video

Postby Paulbb1 » Thu Sep 17, 2009 12:16 pm

What type of cable are we talking about. Normal 4 pin s-video cable or transmitted via cat5 cable? I have only seen 100 ft lengths for normal 4 pin cables and I am not sure that is long enough to get to the cabinet in the media library. I am also not sure I can get the cable down the conduit. I believe it is only 1/2 inch and there is an Cat5e cable in it already. Maybe I should cut the connector and pull it out put in the s-video through and pull the Cat5e back through. Lots of work.

Using coax (composite) is last choice because of drop in quality unless you see no difference between the two when uploading of a broadcast/streaming for of Stk Conf.

I have to go make some measurements.

User avatar
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators
Posts: 3132
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:56 am
Location: Layton, UT

Postby Mikerowaved » Thu Sep 17, 2009 12:30 pm

Just make sure you use good quality cable and not the 100' for $9.95 stuff. Here and here are a few examples of the better stuff, and this one has audio cables too.

Some people can get by without an inline amplifier, but be ready to drop one in if you're not happy with the results at the other end. Any good S-Video distribution amplier would work fine if you don't happen to have the one tsheffield was referring to.
So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.

rmrichesjr
Community Moderators
Posts: 1038
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Dundee, Oregon

Postby rmrichesjr » Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 pm

S-video is actually two 75-ohm single-ended signals. As long as both the driving and receiving equipment has proper termination, the signal can be sent through TWO parallel coax cables for great distances with no loss of quality. Make sure the lengths of the cables match within a few feet. If commercial adapters between the standard four-pin connector and two F-connectors, it would be very easy to build one.

User avatar
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators
Posts: 3132
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:56 am
Location: Layton, UT

Postby Mikerowaved » Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:42 pm

If you're dealing with a tight conduit you're probably better off pulling a solid Cat5e cable through and use a good quality S-Video to Cat5 transformer at each end, rather than cutting an end off an S-Video cable to try and squeeze it through. High quality S-Video cable has a pair of mini 75-ohm shielded cables built in and can be rather bulky to pull. (Some are almost as fat as the connector itself.) That's why I recommend Cat5e. If space wasn't at a premium, then yes, good S-Video cable, or a pair of coaxes might be a better choice.

Also, when you're done, be sure to leave a pull string in the conduit for the next poor fellow. ;)
So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.

Paulbb1
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 10:28 am
Location: Saline, MI

S-video Cat5

Postby Paulbb1 » Thu Sep 17, 2009 7:30 pm

I went and measured and now estimate that the cable has to be 168 feet minimum. 180 to be safe. It is a five year old stake center. I have no tight places. The conduit from the attic (open to attic) to Satellite box is 3/4". Big enough for a full s-video connector or two RG-6 cables connected to an s-video.

I haven't found an adapter for two RG-6 cables to s-video. Haven't found an s-video cable over 150 feet. Looking for custom cable maker.

Will the s-video be good for 180 feet is my question?

It maybe cheaper to go Cat5e with Baluns. Anyone have experience with them?

I am sure others who will be installing these cameras will have the same issues. It would be nice to have some best and cheaper practices documented.

Arlan

jbh001
Community Moderators
Posts: 854
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Postby jbh001 » Thu Sep 17, 2009 7:51 pm

Maybe you already found this, but here is some guidance regarding the issue.

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_the_maximum_length_for_S_Video_cable_and_how_do_you_increase_the_range

rmrichesjr
Community Moderators
Posts: 1038
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Dundee, Oregon

Postby rmrichesjr » Thu Sep 17, 2009 7:53 pm

PaulBB1 wrote:I went and measured and now estimate that the cable has to be 168 feet minimum. 180 to be safe. It is a five year old stake center. I have no tight places. The conduit from the attic (open to attic) to Satellite box is 3/4". Big enough for a full s-video connector or two RG-6 cables connected to an s-video.

I haven't found an adapter for two RG-6 cables to s-video. Haven't found an s-video cable over 150 feet. Looking for custom cable maker.

Will the s-video be good for 180 feet is my question?

It maybe cheaper to go Cat5e with Baluns. Anyone have experience with them?

I am sure others who will be installing these cameras will have the same issues. It would be nice to have some best and cheaper practices documented.

Arlan


As long as the equipment on both ends of the cable are properly terminated, running s-video over even cheap coax for 180 feet would be fine. The highest frequency components are under about 5MHz, so attenuation and delay effects will be negligible. You could run much longer distances than 180 feet. You might start seeing detectable degradation at lengths of a mile or so.

If you can run a soldering iron, you could build the adapters between S-video and double coax. Take a short S-video cable, cut it within a few inches of the ends, strip back the insulation, and solder each of the internal mini-coax cables to a connector that will work for the coax.

I have seen the devices (not really baluns, but ...) that convert A/V signals to go over Cat5 used, and they worked very well. I know the guy who set that up if you'd like an introduction.

Paulbb1
Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 10:28 am
Location: Saline, MI

s-video Cat5

Postby Paulbb1 » Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:06 pm

The soldering of double coax sounds messy even though I have the equipment to do it. I want a clean installation.

It looks like a Cat5 with s-video to Cat5 110 connectors would be best to try first. Cheaper. Add Baluns if needed.

A s-video std connectors at 180 feet might get expensive if I can find someone to make it.


Return to “Webcasting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest