VidiU Sound

Conversations around originating a webcast for conference, including cameras and mixers.
lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6142
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

VidiU Sound

Postby lajackson » Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:29 pm

I wish I could find more information about the VidiU. Will it take the sound if it is on the HDMI cable, or do you have to run the sound separately into the miniature jack for the sound input?

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20763
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: VidiU Sound

Postby russellhltn » Sat Sep 24, 2016 11:51 pm

I'll have to look, but I think the VidiU only has HDMI for video, so there has to be a way of enabling the mini jack. Perhaps via a menu option.

Note, the setup guide has you using the 3.5mm jack.
https://www.lds.org/help/support/vidiu- ... e?lang=eng
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

harddrive
Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:52 pm

Re: VidiU Sound

Postby harddrive » Sun Sep 25, 2016 1:37 pm

Vidiu will take sound over the HDMI. You will need to go into the setup of the Vidiu unit so that it knows where to get the sound. I'm currently using the HDMI to put sound to the broadcast.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20763
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: VidiU Sound

Postby russellhltn » Sun Sep 25, 2016 2:58 pm

lajackson wrote:Will it take the sound if it is on the HDMI cable,

Drat, I read your question wrong. I thought you were asking if you had to run the sound via HDMI. That would make a difference in the type of converter you get.
Have you searched the Wiki?

Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6142
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Re: VidiU Sound

Postby lajackson » Sun Sep 25, 2016 6:01 pm

harddrive wrote:Vidiu will take sound over the HDMI. You will need to go into the setup of the Vidiu unit so that it knows where to get the sound. I'm currently using the HDMI to put sound to the broadcast.

I discovered that this afternoon. I found the setting to change, as well. Thanks for the confirmation. I also discovered that running the sound barely gets through the HDMI and is so low as to not be usable. I found a way to run the sound through the VidiU sound jack and the volume is much better and controllable under our kludged setup.


Return to “Webcasting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest