Set up Question at remote location

Conversations around originating a webcast for conference, including cameras and mixers.
harddrive
Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:52 pm

Set up Question at remote location

Postby harddrive » Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:22 am

I may have asked this before and if so please forgive me.

My question is how do you set up the remote buildings to receive webcasting. Our set up is this.

We broadcast from the stake center using PVC. We have the other buildings in the stake connect to the conference room in PVC. We use to use personal laptops connected to the WIFI to receive the broadcast and put it on the projector and then use the crab to connect it to sound. We gave up on that and decided to go with the following solution.

We have a converter that takes VGA and converts it to RCA (TV). We run that into a Balum and we also then run the sound into the same balum. Then we run a category 5e cable to the satellite cabinet into a AV switch. From the switch we then run it over the same wiring that the satellite system runs. This way we can view it in other classroom in the building if necessary.

So I'm looking at how others are receiving and displaying the broadcast at other buildings.

Thanks for letting me know
Terry

User avatar
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators
Posts: 3131
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:56 am
Location: Layton, UT

Re: Set up Question at remote location

Postby Mikerowaved » Wed Jun 18, 2014 2:46 pm

I'm using Meetinghouse Webcast rather than PVC, but the net results are similar.

Our overflow buildings do not have a video distribution system, so we simply take the VGA output from a notebook PC and plug it into a projector set up in the chapel. The audio goes from the notebook through the crab box and into the sound system via a mic cable and balanced wall jack.

If we setup a cry room, we simply use another notebook PC with HDMI output that's plugged into an LCD TV on a cart. The room we use is far enough removed from the chapel where the difference in sync between the two receivers is not a problem. Just beware that this solution only works if you have ample bandwidth to receive 2 streams at the same time.
So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.

harddrive
Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:52 pm

Re: Set up Question at remote location

Postby harddrive » Sun Jul 06, 2014 6:59 pm

Based on the responses, it looks like I'm truly on the forefront of determining what is the best way to get the signal off the computer into the closed circuit TV system in our buildings for webcasting.

I will try to keep everyone up to date on what is going on, so that you won't have to go through the difficulties of determining what needs to be done.

Terry

dpenrod75
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:48 am

Re: Set up Question at remote location

Postby dpenrod75 » Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:32 am

Our receiver for the satellite system has RCA outputs to the building. I just unplug those three cables from the back of the satellite receiver and hook female to female RCA connectors up to them. I then hook up the Blue VGA computer cable and 3.5 audio cable from the computer receiving the webcast up to a LCD TV with those inputs and that also has RCA outputs. I plug RCA cables from the TV to my RCA connectors, which will feed the A/V from the TV to the building distribution system. In addition to the conversion aspect of the TV it comes in handy for the computer display too if your not using a laptop.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20745
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Set up Question at remote location

Postby russellhltn » Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:31 am

Long-term, I think a better solution would be to ask FM for a EMTech AVDH-2. That would set you up with a switch for switching between the satellite and web stream and includes a VGA to composite video converter.

That TV set sounds nice, but I'm not sure how common TV sets that will act as converters are. Even if they have RCA out, the output may not work when using VGA.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

dpenrod75
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:48 am

Re: Set up Question at remote location

Postby dpenrod75 » Wed Sep 10, 2014 12:51 pm

Wow, thanks for the link. That is cool. I didn't even know a site like this existed for the church.


Return to “Webcasting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest