Can't Transmit

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
DavidCar
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:21 am

Can't Transmit

Postby DavidCar » Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:28 am

I'm getting a "Can't Transmit" error last night and this morning when trying to transmit some check information. The financial clerk said the Sunday batch transmitted fine. I can get on the internet with Firefox, so the internet works. I've emailed the Stake Clerk as suggested in the "Can't Transmit" message that comes up.

Any ideas?

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14693
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:31 am

DavidCar wrote:Any ideas?


There's an entire wiki article on Troubleshooting MLS transmission problems. That should give you some suggestions.
Questions that can benefit the larger community should be asked in a public forum, not a private message.

User avatar
ffrsqpilot
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Montrose, Colorado

Postby ffrsqpilot » Mon Oct 24, 2011 11:29 am

One of our units had the same problem last night (We are a Colorado Stake). The unit in question has a late meeting schedule and didn't finish the donation count until around 5:30 Mountain Time. The finance clerk found me in the building and related the issue and I told him I would look at it after the meeting I was in finished. At 7:30 pm I went to the unit's computer, logged on and did a Send/Recieve. The transmission went through just fine. What may have been the problem is I think SLC was engaged in taking control of the computers (or at least something along that line as I had also had problems with some transmissions from the Stake Computer). By 7:30 it seems to have worked itself out as the transmission went though. I checked with LUS this morning and they concurred that they had the transmission for that unit's donation batch.

Not sure this is what the original post was encountering but it seems at least for us it was a temporary situation.

DavidCar
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:21 am

Postby DavidCar » Mon Oct 24, 2011 12:20 pm

I'm in Orem, Utah. We're on the internet with a fiber optic line. I can use webmail from the ward computer. The tithing batch got sent yesterday afternoon. At about 6pm and also this morning I can't transmit some checks. I looked over the troubleshooting list referred to in the earlier reply. MLS Dialer options is still set at "Use Internet". At "Troubleshooting Level 2" I don't know anything about Afaria, so I didn't try deleting the suggested files. At Level 3, there is no Windows Firewall block. At level 4, I wasn't ready to try reinstalling MLS. The Stake Clerk suggests I wait until tomorrow to try again.

crislapi
Senior Member
Posts: 1265
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:05 pm
Location: USA

Postby crislapi » Mon Oct 24, 2011 12:22 pm

Also had a lot of issues yesterday. The stake was unable to transmit but it worked fine later in the day. I had another unit that got the error and then started got the unauthorized error just as they went to transmit their tithing. The link aebrown provided will be most helpful. I just wanted to let you know you weren't alone on this error.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20762
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Mon Oct 24, 2011 12:37 pm

I think somewhere in the Level 1 Troubleshooting should probably be the question "See if other units in the stake are able to transmit". For a hardwired computer that can get to the internet, the most likely issue (in my experience) is a problem with the church servers.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

User avatar
mfmohlma
Senior Member
Posts: 784
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:45 pm
Location: Hillsboro, OR

Postby mfmohlma » Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:31 pm

We had a "Can't Transmit" error yesterday and late last night. Internet worked fine. I'd have to strongly suspect the problem is not on our end.

giffordrb
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:24 am
Location: Eagle Mountain UT

Postby giffordrb » Mon Oct 24, 2011 2:29 pm

A few servers were down yesterday, which more than likely was the cause of all these errors. They should be all up now and transmissions should go through as expected.
Ryan Gifford
MLS

DavidCar
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:21 am

Postby DavidCar » Mon Oct 24, 2011 8:58 pm

I've still got "Error 1: Unable to Transmit"

So either I'll tell the ward computer specialist to do the troubleshooting steps that I skipped, or I'll have the Stake Clerk call Salt Lake so they can tell him to tell me to tell the ward computer specialist to do the troubleshooting steps that I skipped.

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6140
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Postby lajackson » Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:37 am

DavidCar wrote:So either I'll tell the ward computer specialist to do the troubleshooting steps that I skipped, or I'll have the Stake Clerk call Salt Lake so they can tell him to tell me to tell the ward computer specialist to do the troubleshooting steps that I skipped.


Good move. I would have the ward do the troubleshooting, and then tell him to call directly.

If the stake can be there when he calls, that is even better. We had a little fun one time when one of our ward clerks was speaking with Local Unit Support and got the "your stake should have called" line. He handed me the phone and I said, "the stake told him to call and I am standing here right next to him. I will hand the phone back to him so you can solve his problem."

And they made a very valiant effort to do so.


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest