Received new computer; need to transfer MLS data

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
psnarula
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany

Received new computer; need to transfer MLS data

Postby psnarula » Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:56 pm

We received a new Windows 7 computer and now I (ward clerk) need to transfer the MLS data from the old computer to the new computer. Is this as simple as doing a backup / restore? I couldn't find anything on the Wiki about this.

Will a backup / restore work if the old computer is MLS 3.2.4 and the new computer is MLS 3.3(b5)?

Does backup / restore ensure that account information is retained?

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20732
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:37 pm

Keep in mind that 3.2.4 does not run under Windows 7 and since 3.3 is a beta, you should get approval from the stake president to run it.

A backup and restore should work (but remember, 3.3 is beta). While I'd expect a full folder backup to work, that can be a little more iffy when jumping between versions. Particularly since I suspect that 3.3 might save the data in a different location.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

crislapi
Senior Member
Posts: 1265
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:05 pm
Location: USA

Postby crislapi » Thu Nov 25, 2010 10:26 am

psnarula wrote:Will a backup / restore work if the old computer is MLS 3.2.4 and the new computer is MLS 3.3(b5)?

Does backup / restore ensure that account information is retained?

I had a lot of trouble trying to get my new Windows 7 machine up and running w/ MLS two months ago. We found out post-CUBS conversion our database had gotten corrupted. That might have been what was causing the issue.

When I got the new windows 7 machine, it could not restore from the 3.2.2 (at the time) back-up. Instead, I had to install 3.3.0b2 on the old computer first, which migrated all that data to 3.3 format. A back-up created from that did restore (partially). I ended up copying over the entire MLS folder and that got it working.

Acount information is stored in the backup. You shouldn't lose anything.

Be aware that folder structure is completely different in MLS 3.3.0 and again on Windows 7 vs XP. See more here.

psnarula
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany

Postby psnarula » Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:12 pm

I checked on Sunday and it turns out that the version of MLS on the old computer was exactly the same as what I got when I did a full install of MLS 3.3b5 on the new Win7 workstation. I asked the stake clerk and he told me that our stake is a beta stake for MLS testing. So that explains why we already had 3.3 installed on the old machine.

I did a backup on the old machine, moved the backup file to the new machine, and did a restore. All MLS data was succesfully restored to the new Win7 workstation. So I didn't have any of the 3.2 / 3.3 compatibility problems that others have documented. Everything was going well until I did a send/receive. This failed with Error 2: "Unauthorized" (see attached). I have been trying to call MLS Support (801-240-3500) since Monday but they apparently have such high call volume that I can't even be put on hold. The system just hangs up on me and tells me to call back later. Grrrr....
Attachments
error.JPG
error.JPG (27.83 KiB) Viewed 1537 times

jonesrk
Church Employee
Church Employee
Posts: 1454
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:12 am
Location: Farmington, UT, USA

Postby jonesrk » Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:49 pm

psnarula wrote: Everything was going well until I did a send/receive. This failed with Error 2: "Unauthorized" (see attached). I have been trying to call MLS Support (801-240-3500) since Monday but they apparently have such high call volume that I can't even be put on hold. The system just hangs up on me and tells me to call back later. Grrrr....


You can email them as well see Local Unit Support
Ryan Jones
CDOL Developer
Stake Technology Specialist - Software / Stake Assistant Clerk
Former Ward Clerk

psnarula
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany

Postby psnarula » Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:57 pm

Finally got through. I spent 18 minutes on hold before speaking to a technician. He said new computers need to have some sort of a security token reset so he did that and now everything should go through when I try again on Sunday. The old computer now is de-authorized so that guy isn't going to be working for send/receive anymore...

crislapi
Senior Member
Posts: 1265
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:05 pm
Location: USA

Postby crislapi » Thu Dec 02, 2010 3:26 pm

psnarula wrote:Finally got through. I spent 18 minutes on hold before speaking to a technician. He said new computers need to have some sort of a security token reset so he did that and now everything should go through when I try again on Sunday. The old computer now is de-authorized so that guy isn't going to be working for send/receive anymore...

Yes. It is a security measure to make sure 1) only one MLS can send/receive for any given unit and 2) keep unauthorized installs of MLS from accessing the information.

You need the re-authorize any time you install MLS on a new computer or perform a clean install on an old computer.

psnarula
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany

Postby psnarula » Thu Dec 02, 2010 3:46 pm

Is this on the Wiki somewhere? It would have been nice to know before tonight...

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14685
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Thu Dec 02, 2010 3:58 pm

psnarula wrote:Is this on the Wiki somewhere? It would have been nice to know before tonight...


Yes. The security reset is mentioned in:

Questions that can benefit the larger community should be asked in a public forum, not a private message.

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14685
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Thu Dec 02, 2010 4:01 pm

psnarula wrote:We received a new Windows 7 computer and now I (ward clerk) need to transfer the MLS data from the old computer to the new computer. Is this as simple as doing a backup / restore? I couldn't find anything on the Wiki about this.


This procedure is covered in MLS installation and repair, but it does need to be updated for new details related to MLS 3.3.
Questions that can benefit the larger community should be asked in a public forum, not a private message.


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest