Changing unit names in MLS

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
ralphkbair
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 7:18 pm
Location: Logan, UT, USA

Changing unit names in MLS

Postby ralphkbair » Sun Aug 22, 2010 7:56 am

With the change from "Student Wards" to Young Single Adult Wards, all of the unit names in our stake will change, but we will retain the current unit numbers. I assume one will just need to edit the unit name in MLS (System Options, Unit, then edit Unit Information) while leaving the unit numbers unchanged. Thanks in advance for any advice.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20780
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Sun Aug 22, 2010 10:13 am

While you probably can change the name of the ward in MLS, I'm not sure if that change has any effect outside of MLS. I'd talk to Local Unit Support about making sure any official paperwork is filed.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

crislapi
Senior Member
Posts: 1265
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:05 pm
Location: USA

Postby crislapi » Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:16 pm

I seem to remember this is part of the Leader and Unit Change Request section of the Stake MLS. You'll notice that the option to change any of the unit info is blocked out. So is most of the info for Bishops, etc. That's because this info is supplied from the CDOL to the unit. Any official change in unit name will probably be pushed down to your unit(s) through that system.

danpass
Member
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 5:38 pm
Location: Oregon City, OR
Contact:

Postby danpass » Sun Aug 22, 2010 5:12 pm

crislapi wrote:I seem to remember this is part of the Leader and Unit Change Request section of the Stake MLS. You'll notice that the option to change any of the unit info is blocked out. So is most of the info for Bishops, etc. That's because this info is supplied from the CDOL to the unit. Any official change in unit name will probably be pushed down to your unit(s) through that system.


Speaking from recent firsthand experience, I can say that currently, changes in unit name are not pushed down to MLS.

For each ward that undergoes a name change, a user with administrator rights in the ward MLS, must do as the OP described to change the unit name through the system options. Until this is done, even though the name has been officially changed and is listed correctly in the CDOL, the old name will still show on the MLS login screen and anywhere else (i.e. reports, etc.) where the unit name is displayed.

The system options in stake MLS currently allow you to change ward unit names as they appear in stake MLS reports. When the names of several wards in our stake were recently changed and I saw that the old names were still showing in stake MLS, I corrected the names in the stake system options. I found that within a week or two, some of the changes I made were getting undone and the old names were returning. I finally discovered that some of the wards had not yet updated their unit name in ward MLS. The old, incorrect name was occasionally getting fed to stake MLS and overwriting the changes I had made.

ralphkbair
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 7:18 pm
Location: Logan, UT, USA

Postby ralphkbair » Sun Aug 22, 2010 10:53 pm

I'd like to thank danpass for his advice based on his recent experience. I will proceed as he suggested. If any other clerks have had a different experience, I would appreciate that insight as well. Thanks RKB


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest