Stake and Ward Audit Forms

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
davelane
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 6:39 pm
Location: Mesa, AZ USA

Stake and Ward Audit Forms

Postby davelane » Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:20 am

Today 2/13/2010 I am attempting to print Stake and Ward Audit Forms. We currently have MLS 3.1.5, and I am unable to find the forms under "Other Resources" per the MLS Support Message dated 6 Feb 2009. I have not had any problem with the last two audits. Any suggestions would be welcome in that Auidits are to be performed this month.

jdlessley
Community Moderators
Posts: 6526
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:30 pm
Location: USA, TX

Postby jdlessley » Sat Feb 13, 2010 11:56 am

DaveLane wrote:Today 2/13/2010 I am attempting to print Stake and Ward Audit Forms. We currently have MLS 3.1.5, and I am unable to find the forms under "Other Resources" per the MLS Support Message dated 6 Feb 2009. I have not had any problem with the last two audits. Any suggestions would be welcome in that Auidits are to be performed this month.
There should be three selections available in the "Other Resources" pane or menu bar with the same name. Those selections should be Church Audits, Confidential Reports and Forms and Seminaries and Institutes. You must have the appropriate access rights for all of them to be available. The Church Audits selections are only availble to those with Admin, Edit Membership, or Finance rights. View Membership or Organization rights will not display the Church Audits selections.

If you have the rights to display the Church Audits selections and still do not see them then you may need to do a full install of MLS to get them back.

You can still print the audit forms from the modaudit.jar file located in the C:\Program Files\LDS Church\MLS\mods folder.
JD Lessley
Have you tried finding your answer on the LDS.org Help Center page or the LDSTech wiki?

crislapi
Senior Member
Posts: 1265
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:05 pm
Location: USA

Postby crislapi » Sat Feb 13, 2010 2:37 pm

Sounds like something got messed up on your install. I'm on MLS 3.1.5 right now and they are there under Other Resources > Church Audits > Ward Financial Audit

davelane
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 6:39 pm
Location: Mesa, AZ USA

Solution and possible cause

Postby davelane » Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:36 am

Thanks for the feedback, I uninstalled MLS and reinstalled and all fields are now present. I saw this happen in one of our Wards a month or so ago with the Confidential Reports. A reinstall fixed that problem also. It would appear that the problem occurs after an automatic MLS upgrade that happens when a person who does not have the proper permissions to view the affected information, does a send and recieve changes. I am not sure how to prevent that from happening and it is just a theory I have as to what causes this to happen.

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6139
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Postby lajackson » Sun Feb 14, 2010 2:10 pm

DaveLane wrote:It would appear that the problem occurs after an automatic MLS upgrade that happens when a person who does not have the proper permissions to view the affected information, does a send and recieve changes. I am not sure how to prevent that from happening and it is just a theory I have as to what causes this to happen.


I propose that this is an excellent theory and should be reviewed by the developers. This is exactly what happened to one of our units. Someone with lesser privileges was doing the Send/Receive when the download arrived.

I do not think this should affect it, but it is similar to your situation, and therefore probably worth investigating.

Freedom55
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 9:15 pm
Location: BC, Canada

Postby Freedom55 » Wed Feb 24, 2010 2:39 pm

It would appear that a corrupted install can occur even when the individual signed on does has full administrative rights. I had a problem going back over a year that I finally solved by downloading a fresh install from the website and re-installing MLS. Previously, all the automatic upgrades had been done by me (with full admin rights) yet a corrupted file of some sort had persisted.

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6139
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Postby lajackson » Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:02 pm

Freedom55 wrote:It would appear that a corrupted install can occur even when the individual signed on does has full administrative rights. I had a problem going back over a year that I finally solved by downloading a fresh install from the website and re-installing MLS. Previously, all the automatic upgrades had been done by me (with full admin rights) yet a corrupted file of some sort had persisted.


I have posted before that I find it wise to do a complete install from the MLS installer every now and then. If it has been a while since I did one, that is one of the first things I do when I start having unexplained problems.

User avatar
ffrsqpilot
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 7:51 am
Location: Montrose, Colorado

Postby ffrsqpilot » Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:16 am

lajackson wrote:I have posted before that I find it wise to do a complete install from the MLS installer every now and then. If it has been a while since I did one, that is one of the first things I do when I start having unexplained problems.


Not a bad idea. I hadn't thought about doing a complete install before, but one of our units was unable to transmit to Salt Lake for two weeks. When I called the help desk they took a look and related that the unit in question had 3.1.4 as their version rather than 3.1.5. The unit had transmitted after the 3.1.5 version came out but apparently during the download via dial up the version became corrupted and somehow made transmissions to Salt Lake not working. I downloaded a full install via a thumb drive and everything started working again.

So, not a bad idea for stake technology specialists, stake clerks, or ward clerks to do a full install every so often. Perhaps not a bad idea for the MLS folks to put out a message via MLS encouraging clerks to do that.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20757
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:41 am

Unless my clerks have been fixing things themselves, I've rarely had to do that.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6139
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Postby lajackson » Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:09 pm

RussellHltn wrote:Unless my clerks have been fixing things themselves, I've rarely had to do that.


Even my most trusted ward, where everything has been done by the book since the beginning of MLS, has required a fresh total reload. They went the longest without it, but there came a point after a sufficient number of downloads and patches that things started to get glitchy and buggy, and the problems could not be resolved.

So we did a fresh load and all of the unexplained problems went away.

None of our units were able to migrate successfully from any 2x version of MLS all the way to 3.1.5 that we are now using. This one almost made it. We reloaded at 3.1.4 when 3.1.5 would not patch after multiple attempts.


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest