MLS Page Blank

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
johnsco-p40
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 7:23 pm
Location: Driggs, Idaho

MLS Page Blank

Postby johnsco-p40 » Fri Dec 18, 2009 6:16 pm

:confused:
I have an OptiPlex GX620 running Windows XP SP2 with MLS 3.1.2
When I open MLS I get the Title Page Showing MLS. 3.1.2 then the Tool Bar under that (FILE EDIT and so on). Under that I have a blank brown screen.
This is what I have done to remedy:
1. uninstalled MLS
2 Reinstalled with fresh install
3. Restored from latest backup
None of these steps helped so I:
4. Restored from the next latest backup
5. Updated Java

None of these steps have helped me. I someone has some answers please let me know ASAP.

Thanks in advance.

jdlessley
Community Moderators
Posts: 6526
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:30 pm
Location: USA, TX

Postby jdlessley » Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:38 pm

johnsco wrote::confused:
I have an OptiPlex GX620 running Windows XP SP2 with MLS 3.1.2
When I open MLS I get the Title Page Showing MLS. 3.1.2 then the Tool Bar under that (FILE EDIT and so on). Under that I have a blank brown screen.
This is what I have done to remedy:
1. uninstalled MLS
2 Reinstalled with fresh install
3. Restored from latest backup
None of these steps helped so I:
4. Restored from the next latest backup
5. Updated Java


None of these steps have helped me. I someone has some answers please let me know ASAP.
From what you describe there is a problem with the JRE (Java Runtime Environment). MLS installs its own JRE. Udating Java for the computer will have no affect on the MLS installation of Java. Follow these steps:
  1. Rename the C:\Program Files\jre6 folder to something else. (This is the location of the MLS version of Java.)
  2. Install the full installation of MLS. (This should give you a fresh install of Java for MLS)
Once you have determined that MLS is fully functioning you can delete the renamed MLS Java folder from step 1.
JD Lessley
Have you tried finding your answer on the LDS.org Help Center page or the LDSTech wiki?

jdlessley
Community Moderators
Posts: 6526
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:30 pm
Location: USA, TX

Postby jdlessley » Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:48 pm

If removing the MLS JRE and reinstalling MLS does not solve the problem it is possible the MLS 3.1.2 installer you used may not be complete or corrupt. Check the file size to make sure it is 100MB. Downloading it again from the MLS download sitewould not hurt to make sure you have a good copy.
JD Lessley
Have you tried finding your answer on the LDS.org Help Center page or the LDSTech wiki?

greener-p40
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 4:06 pm
Location: USA

Blank Page in MLS

Postby greener-p40 » Sun Dec 20, 2009 4:17 pm

I also started to get the blank screen in MLS after Dec 15, 2009. I have added a second unit to MLS and restored the data from the second unit and MLS works fine with the second unit. On the first unit everything was working fine on 12/13/09, but even when I restore back to Nov 22 the problem is not fixed. Java and MLS must be okay because the second unit works fine, it must be a problem with the first unit's data. I noticed that I can still print membership information by pressing CTRL + P even though nothing is visible on the screen, however I can not open any of the pull-down menu options for finances. I did remove all versions of java and java updates, I removed MLS and Afaria, ran a chkdsk, and then re-installed MLS 3.1.2 which I downloaded from mls.lds.org. None of these worked for me.

jdlessley
Community Moderators
Posts: 6526
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:30 pm
Location: USA, TX

Postby jdlessley » Sun Dec 20, 2009 4:55 pm

Since your troubleshooting appears to have isolated the issue to a database problem the best course of action from here is to call clerk support. If the database is corrupted, they have a means whereby they can set a flag in MLS so that your database will be transmitted to them, they can examine it, hopefully fix it, and then transmit it back to you. It may take a while for all this to happen.
JD Lessley
Have you tried finding your answer on the LDS.org Help Center page or the LDSTech wiki?

bgreener-p40
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:43 pm

Blank MLS screen fixed

Postby bgreener-p40 » Thu Dec 24, 2009 3:51 pm

After further testing, my problem was not data after all...I restored this unit info on another PC and it worked fine. So, I restored the desktop 5.5 image on the unit's PC, installed MLS, and restored data, and now all is working normally again. There must be configuration data somewhere else on the PC than in the "LDS Church", "Afaria", and "Java" folders/Registry Keys.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20763
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Thu Dec 24, 2009 7:17 pm

There's also the \Program Files\AClient folder. I'm not sure what's stored in there.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14693
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Thu Dec 24, 2009 9:48 pm

RussellHltn wrote:There's also the \Program Files\AClient folder. I'm not sure what's stored in there.


Perhaps you mean the \Program Files\LDS Church\AClient folder, but it contains only the installation program for the Afaria client. There are no configuration settings there.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20763
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:49 am

Alan_Brown wrote:Perhaps you mean the \Program Files\LDS Church\AClient folder,


No, there's a C:\Program Files\AClient folder on my test system that contains a Bin and Data folder.

It's also listed in directions to remove and re-install MLS. See step 12 under Level 4 Troubleshooting in Troubleshooting MLS transmission problems. (BTW, that procedure may not preserve the dialer phone number. I'd suggest backing up the dialer.properties file and restoring it - unless you want to re-enter the phone numbers.)
Have you searched the Wiki?

Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14693
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Mon Dec 28, 2009 11:12 am

RussellHltn wrote:No, there's a C:\Program Files\AClient folder on my test system that contains a Bin and Data folder.


My mistake -- there is indeed an AClient folder under C:\Program Files\LDS Church, but there is also an AClient folder under C:\Program Files as you mentioned. I found the first one and incorrectly assumed it was the only one.

However, I find it hard to imagine how anything related to Afaria would affect MLS startup -- it wouldn't be accessed until a transmission is attempted.

RussellHltn wrote:(BTW, that procedure may not preserve the dialer phone number. I'd suggest backing up the dialer.properties file and restoring it - unless you want to re-enter the phone numbers.)


I fixed the wiki already (fixing it there makes more sense than mentioning it on the forum).


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest