Rules for Quorum Assignment

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
User avatar
mkmurray
Senior Member
Posts: 3241
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:56 pm
Location: Utah
Contact:

Rules for Quorum Assignment

Postby mkmurray » Sun Dec 13, 2009 2:59 pm

Is there any "class rules" feature for automating the assignment of men and young men to their respective quorums (especially in the case of 2 or more quorums of the same priesthood office)?

Thanks in advance.
Many questions are already answered on the LDSTech wiki. Check it out!

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14693
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:47 pm

mkmurray wrote:Is there any "class rules" feature for automating the assignment of men and young men to their respective quorums (especially in the case of 2 or more quorums of the same priesthood office)?


The "class rules" for priesthood quorums are built into MLS and cannot be changed. These rules do automate the assignment of males to the appropriate organization, based on age (for Deacons, Teachers, Priests, and Prospective Elders), and priesthood office (for Elders, Seventies, and High Priests).

These rules function the same, regardless of how many quorums there are for the same office. When there are two quorums for a given office, a person who becomes eligible for a quorum (because of having a particular birthday, or a MP ordination) is added to both quorums. This is consistent with the way automatic rules for other classes work (e.g., if there are two Valiant 9 classes, someone who is 9 at the beginning of the year will be assigned to both Valiant 9A and Valiant 9B). Then someone just needs to remove the newly added person from one of the quorums.

User avatar
mkmurray
Senior Member
Posts: 3241
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:56 pm
Location: Utah
Contact:

Postby mkmurray » Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:16 am

Alan_Brown wrote:When there are two quorums for a given office, a person who becomes eligible for a quorum (because of having a particular birthday, or a MP ordination) is added to both quorums.

This has not been my experience for the last year and a half. The new move-in Elders have always been added to EQ 1 and we have had to manually move some of the Elder's to the other quorum. There has never been a case in my experience where an Elder has been automatically assigned to both quorums.

We were previously divided alphabetically between quorums, but are now switching to a geographical division. I was hoping there was some way to automate assignment based on geocode or something similar via "class rules".
Many questions are already answered on the LDSTech wiki. Check it out!

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14693
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Mon Dec 14, 2009 7:26 am

mkmurray wrote:This has not been my experience for the last year and a half. The new move-in Elders have always been added to EQ 1 and we have had to manually move some of the Elder's to the other quorum. There has never been a case in my experience where an Elder has been automatically assigned to both quorums.

We were previously divided alphabetically between quorums, but are now switching to a geographical division. I was hoping there was some way to automate assignment based on geocode or something similar via "class rules".


My statement about what happens with new move-ins was based on an experiment I did with the "Reset Organizations for Member" option on an individual record. That does indeed put the person in both classes. I assumed (apparently incorrectly) that move-ins would work the same way. I should have done more research before posting that conclusion -- sorry 'bout that!

But the way it works is actually better, IMO. Then you know to always look in Quorum 1 and move people as appropriate, instead of having to look in two quorums for people to move out.

As for your hope that there would be some more powerful set of rules, that is unfortunately only a hope. There are no rules that you can control for quorum assignment. So you'll just have to do the manual moves as you have been doing.

User avatar
mkmurray
Senior Member
Posts: 3241
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 9:56 pm
Location: Utah
Contact:

Postby mkmurray » Mon Dec 14, 2009 9:08 am

Alan_Brown wrote:But the way it works is actually better, IMO. Then you know to always look in Quorum 1 and move people as appropriate, instead of having to look in two quorums for people to move out.

Agreed. I'm very glad that is not the default behavior. We have been doing it manual before and so we are used to it.

However, with the alphabetical break up, you could figure out who belonged in which quorum right there in the "Add Members" popup dialog window (or by doing "Remove"). It will be slightly more effort to now look up address and figure out the geographical assignment from those screens.
Many questions are already answered on the LDSTech wiki. Check it out!


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest