Unable to update Callings in 3.1.1

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
jamble-p40
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2009 11:22 am
Location: USA

Unable to update Callings in 3.1.1

Postby jamble-p40 » Sun Nov 29, 2009 11:29 am

Has anyone else had this problem? When I click to remove a person from and E.Q. or R.S. calling (other callings section) the display jumps (scrolls) and I'm unable to click on their name or calling. Additionally, if I click and press on some names in the same box, they turn red (these are the openable ones).

Additionally, when I added a calling today, it wouldn't take it's proper place alphabetically even though I selected the column that sorts things alphabetically. It's as though I'd titled it "ZZZZ" even though it began with an "E." All other callings fell in line with their proper order.

Very frustrating. . . wonder if there's a way to go back to a previous version of MLS. We've had these issues ever since we upgraded to 3.1

Best! Dan

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14693
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Sun Nov 29, 2009 1:59 pm

jamble wrote:Has anyone else had this problem? When I click to remove a person from and E.Q. or R.S. calling (other callings section) the display jumps (scrolls) and I'm unable to click on their name or calling.


I've seen MLS scroll a list box when the item you click on is not completely displayed (even if it might appear that the entire row is within the scroll window, if the item is at the top or bottom of the box, it might scroll anyway. But when this happens, I have always been able to click on the item after it scrolls.

jamble wrote:Additionally, if I click and press on some names in the same box, they turn red (these are the openable ones).


It's standard behavior for a clickable link item to turn red when you click on it and hold the mouse button down. But as soon as you release the mouse button, it's supposed to become blue again.

jamble wrote:Additionally, when I added a calling today, it wouldn't take it's proper place alphabetically even though I selected the column that sorts things alphabetically. It's as though I'd titled it "ZZZZ" even though it began with an "E." All other callings fell in line with their proper order.


I haven't seen this, but rebuilding the database indexes might help (see how to do this below).

jamble wrote:Very frustrating. . . wonder if there's a way to go back to a previous version of MLS. We've had these issues ever since we upgraded to 3.1


There is no way to go back. Once your database has been upgraded to the 3.1 level, it can't be used with older version. But your experiences are unusual, so I think your best course of action is to figure out and solve the problems. Then you'll simply be able to enjoy the benefits of 3.1, without these problems.

For strange problems such as these, some people have had success with:

  1. Doing a full installation of MLS (your stake clerk or stake technology specialist can download the full installer) rather than the patch upgrade that was most likely automatically installed.
  2. Doing a backup and then restore that backup (this rebuilds the database indexes).
  3. Ask your stake clerk or stake technology specialist for assistance.
  4. Call Clerk Support.


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest