Change Geo Codes Master List

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
User avatar
CMiller-p40
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 10:16 am
Location: Commerce City, Co USA

Change Geo Codes Master List

Postby CMiller-p40 » Fri Sep 18, 2009 4:18 pm

I have been asked by our Stake to change our Ward Geo Codes from the existing code to a new code. For example old = R18 new = RE18. Basically I just need to change the R to an RE. I am unable to find a master list to "Edit" without going into each member file and changing the code....one by one.....

Is is possible to change a master list within MLS?

Thanks

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20762
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Fri Sep 18, 2009 5:43 pm

Nope. Not unless something has changed. There is no "master list". It's simply a list of what is in use.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

User avatar
CMiller-p40
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 10:16 am
Location: Commerce City, Co USA

Postby CMiller-p40 » Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:25 pm

That is what I was affraid of!

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6139
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Postby lajackson » Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:52 pm

CMiller wrote:That is what I was affraid of!


But in the list, you can click on the Geo Code title and they will sort in Geo Code order, so that the ones that need to be changed are all together on the list. Only slightly less painful, I realize, but still easier than reading through the entire list to pick them out.

User avatar
cottrells
Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Contact:

Postby cottrells » Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:07 am

From reading your query it made me think that it would be useful if Geo Codes worked like tags do in lots of social media offerings. For each household you could be given the option of selecting an existing Geo Code/tag or creating a new one. It would also be useful, as you asked, for the system to be able to rename a whole group of Geo Codes in one place.

I have added this idea to the wiki

RossEvans
Senior Member
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:52 pm
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Postby RossEvans » Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:36 am

An even more useful enhancement would be a generalized tool to import and merge data into several MLS fields. This could include not only the Geo Code fields, but also other fields such as address and phone.

The clerk then could extend the MLS functionality for lots of purposes in spreadsheets or external helper applications.

With respect to the Geo Code fields in particular, there are several external solutions for assigning Geo Code values by methods more sophisticated than looking them up on a paper map. But then all the codes have to be keyed in manually.

User avatar
CMiller-p40
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 10:16 am
Location: Commerce City, Co USA

Postby CMiller-p40 » Sat Sep 26, 2009 6:37 pm

Yes it would be nice to be able to export the data, find the errors on including address, phone and Geo then import it back... getting this all into google earth is nice...getting it back is the test of enduring to the end.

lesstrawn
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 7:19 pm

geo finders

Postby lesstrawn » Mon Apr 26, 2010 7:29 pm

CMiller wrote:Yes it would be nice to be able to export the data, find the errors on including address, phone and Geo then import it back... getting this all into google earth is nice...getting it back is the test of enduring to the end.


After having done 3 ward boundary and 1 stake boundary change, I find it easiest to use Microsoft Streets and draw the proposed geo boundaries on it, then export membership to excel; sort by HoH # (1), have the name, address, city, state and zip left after deleting all non address info. then just import the excel file onto the map. Have a ward geo code list on hand, when importing is done, just click on the push pin get the family name and address, mark that geo code on the ward geo code list and delete the pin from the map so I know which ones I have. Then I just go the MLS and enter in order the proper geo code for that family.


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest