MLS 3.0 Issue: Can't deactivate missionary accounts

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
poulsone
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:07 am

MLS 3.0 Issue: Can't deactivate missionary accounts

Postby poulsone » Sun Jun 21, 2009 3:19 pm

Hi!

We tried to un-check the "Active" box for the sub-accounts under "Ward Missionary" of some returned missionaries today. It failed with an error, saying that the account can't be deactivated because the balance isn't zero. However, we double checked and the balance shown on the "Income and Expense Report - Details by Subcategory" for those sub accounts IS zero.

For each missionary, the error message showed a different non-zero amount, that had no obvious correlation to the history of the sub-category. All the ones we tried to deactivate had a zero balance as of today, and some have been at zero for months.

Any ideas what's going on?

Thanks!

Eric P

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14689
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Sun Jun 21, 2009 4:52 pm

poulsone wrote:We tried to un-check the "Active" box for the sub-accounts under "Ward Missionary" of some returned missionaries today. It failed with an error, saying that the account can't be deactivated because the balance isn't zero. However, we double checked and the balance shown on the "Income and Expense Report - Details by Subcategory" for those sub accounts IS zero.

For each missionary, the error message showed a different non-zero amount, that had no obvious correlation to the history of the sub-category. All the ones we tried to deactivate had a zero balance as of today, and some have been at zero for months.


I just tested it on the test database, and was able to deactivate a missionary with a zero balance, so I can't duplicate that part of what you are reporting.

But when I tried to deactivate any missionary subcategories with a non-zero balance, the error message was indeed odd. For example, a missionary with a balance of -397.00 showed two values of -794.00. So the value shown was twice the balance, and for some reason that number was repeated. So there's definitely a problem there.

jbh001
Community Moderators
Posts: 854
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Postby jbh001 » Sun Jun 21, 2009 7:06 pm

Is it possible that even though the Income and Expense Report shows the balance(s) at zero, there are unreconciled transfers?

When you do your next reconciliation, after you reconcile the Deposits and the Expenses, click over to the Transfers tab to see if there are any transactions that haven't been marked as cleared that should be marked as cleared. It might be that you can't de-activate the sub-accounts until all transactions and transfers have been reconciled.

Most of the time that extra step isn't necessary. But when you are experiencing problems, it won't hurt to check.

WeinstockCC
Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 8:51 am
Location: UT, USA

Postby WeinstockCC » Wed Jun 24, 2009 11:40 am

It is actually a known bug that should be fixed shortly.

poulsone
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:07 am

Fixed!

Postby poulsone » Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:09 pm

It appears that after a MLS update today, this problem is fixed.

Thanks!

Eric Poulson

jbh001
Community Moderators
Posts: 854
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Postby jbh001 » Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:48 pm

13thfloorrocks wrote:It is actually a known bug that should be fixed shortly.


poulsone wrote:It appears that after a MLS update today, this problem is fixed.


Perhaps that was a primary reason for bumping the rev of MLS 3.0 from beta 6 to beta 7.


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest