Stake MLS 2.9.4 - Ward Leadership Report problems

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
cougarfan-p40
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:18 pm
Location: United States, Spanish Fork, Utah

Stake MLS 2.9.4 - Ward Leadership Report problems

Postby cougarfan-p40 » Tue Jun 16, 2009 9:50 pm

This is the first time I have noticed this problem and I do not know when it started.

When I select ward leadership from the organizations link, 4 of the 8 wards are blank for all callings.

It is the same 4 wards missing data for each organization throughout the report.

Any help would be appreciated!

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14690
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Wed Jun 17, 2009 4:09 am

cougarfan wrote:When I select ward leadership from the organizations link, 4 of the 8 wards are blank for all callings.

It is the same 4 wards missing data for each organization throughout the report.


I can think of three possible explanations: 4 wards not entering callings, those 4 wards using nonstandard callings, or an incomplete software upgrade in the stake.

I suppose it's possible that all 4 wards have never entered callings into MLS at all, but you never noticed it before. That would be improbable.

The second option seems very unlikely; if a ward does not use the callings built in to MLS, but changes them (which essentially creates Custom Callings), then the calling information is not transmitted from the ward MLS to the stake MLS. But that seems farfetched; they would have to change every single calling, and who would change "Bishop"?

Given the timing of your report, an incomplete software upgrade seems most likely. In your post title, you mentioned "Stake MLS 2.9.4". As you may well have heard, over the weekend many units in the Church were automatically upgraded to MLS 3.0. One of the biggest changes in this new version of MLS deals with standardizing calling names and communicating callings from ward to stake and from stake to ward. The installation instructions emphasize that every unit in the stake should be upgraded at the same time. Is it possible that those 4 wards upgraded to MLS 3.0, while the other wards and the stake are still on MLS 2.9.4?

Note that the upgrade is not really complete until each ward has:

  1. Done a send/receive from MLS 2.9.4, which downloads the new version.
  2. Rebooted the computer, which completes the installation of MLS 3.0.
  3. Started MLS 3.0, which upgrades the database (and remaps calling names)
  4. Done a send/receive from MLS 3.0, which sends the new calling information to the Church.
After all this, then the stake has to also have been through this upgrade process and finally do a send/receive from MLS 3.0, to receive the new calling information from the wards.

So I would recommend that you check to see if part of the stake has been upgraded to 3.0, and other parts have not. That might explain it. If so, the fix would simply be to make sure everyone upgrades and does the transmissions as I outlined above.

cougarfan-p40
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:18 pm
Location: United States, Spanish Fork, Utah

Postby cougarfan-p40 » Wed Jun 17, 2009 11:41 am

I printed this report a couple of months ago with no problems, so the I know that all the wards calling information was there recently.

Sounds likely that the problem may be that some wards have upgraded to the 3.0 release of MLS. In that case the callings may have a new format that our older 2.9.4 MLS may be having problems with.

bhm014
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 4:30 pm

Postby bhm014 » Fri Jun 19, 2009 10:20 am

I have the same issue with the stake MLS here in Tahiti. Some wards leadership information are left blank while the other half show up. Does it mean that all the wards in the stake need to upgrade to MLS 3.0 before the stake's MLS get upgraded to MLS 3.0?

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14690
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Postby aebrown » Fri Jun 19, 2009 11:36 am

lh014 wrote:I have the same issue with the stake MLS here in Tahiti. Some wards leadership information are left blank while the other half show up. Does it mean that all the wards in the stake need to upgrade to MLS 3.0 before the stake's MLS get upgraded to MLS 3.0?


I don't think the order matters much. In my stake, I upgraded stake MLS first, then all the wards. I never saw any part of the ward leadership go blank.

It does seem that the order of transmissions matters. All the wards have to do a transmission after upgrading to MLS 3.0, and then sometime after that, the stake has to do a transmission after upgrading to MLS 3.0 in order for the new calling information to come from the wards to the stake. And sometime after the stake does a 3.0 transmission, the wards have to do another transmission in order to get any calling information from the stake.


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest