Daylight Saving Time - Not Fixed on Ward Computers

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
rickhellewell-p40
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:05 pm

Daylight Saving Time - Not Fixed on Ward Computers

Postby rickhellewell-p40 » Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:10 pm

As an information security guy for a large metropolitan city government, I am aware of the DST changes, and even wrote a program to fix Win2K systems and audit systems (based on code and reg files from MS KB).

I was at the church tonight (I am exec secretary) and noticed that our ward computer, recently updated with the latest image, doesn't have the correct settings for the new DST start (this Sunday am).

The system is Windows XP Pro, Dell system (about 3 months old). Since we only have dialup, I couldn't get to WIndows Update to get the time zone fix.

Is there a plan to update ward computers with the new DST values? I'm sure that you (at LDSTech) have considered this...at least, I would hope so. Are the incorrect values going to cause problems with financial transaction processing?

Thanks...Rick..

jkarras-p40
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:42 pm
Location: Ogden, Ut

Don't forget the Java JRE

Postby jkarras-p40 » Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:23 am

I believe the JRE being used is a version or two old and needs the patch run also. Were all of these patches going to be run through the new LANDesk setup?

User avatar
johnshaw
Senior Member
Posts: 1834
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Syracuse, UT

DST and Java Versions

Postby johnshaw » Sun Mar 11, 2007 12:07 am

I am sitting here right now in a War Room effort supporting our Data Center during the Time change event. At our Ward Building earlier this week I did bring in the Microsoft update for our XP system running MLS so the Windows OS will be updated correctly. I identified that we are running JRE 1.4.2 which has been identified as having an issue with the new DST, 1.4.2_12 (I think) is the release. I sent out a message to the LDSClerks mailing list and the only responses that came back were not to touch Java....

beckbd-p40
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 6:06 am

Postby beckbd-p40 » Mon Mar 12, 2007 6:58 am

HQ is not that concerned with daylight savings time. 1 hr ahead or behind is not that critical for MLS. I downloaded the patch from Microsoft and went around my stake on sunday and patched all of our machines. The patch detected and updated the clock even after the fact. I figured even though it is not required for the MLS system it still slows down the calls from the wards when they finally realize that the daylight savings time did not update. Here is the name of the patch I used WindowsXP-KB931836-x86-ENU.exe.

beckbd-p40
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 6:06 am

Postby beckbd-p40 » Mon Mar 12, 2007 7:05 am

jkarras wrote:I believe the JRE being used is a version or two old and needs the patch run also. Were all of these patches going to be run through the new LANDesk setup?


Landesk works great via high speed internet. However 95% of our wards are using modem dialup. The dialup connections are controlled by Afaria and as soon as the transmission for MLS updates is over Afaria drops the pipe. Landesk fails to even update the inventory scans. Technology specialists will have to continue updating the OS and such under our current configuration.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20732
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Mon Mar 12, 2007 11:44 am

beckbd wrote:The dialup connections are controlled by Afaria and as soon as the transmission for MLS updates is over Afaria drops the pipe. Landesk fails to even update the inventory scans.


So, LANdesk is useless for dial-up users? Can we shut it off the services (not uninstall) to reclaim memory and CPU cycles?

User avatar
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators
Posts: 3131
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:56 am
Location: Layton, UT

Postby Mikerowaved » Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:53 am

Here we are a year later and still don't have the Daylight Savings patch on our MLS computer. I would think it would have been included in the 5.5 rollout.
So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.

SR Ward Clerk-p40
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Las Vegas, USA
Contact:

Postby SR Ward Clerk-p40 » Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:40 pm

Though it isn't necessary for HQ, it was somewhat annoying on the ward level. I use XP here at home, and after reading Microsoft's elaborate solution to the issue for computers not able to connect to the Internet, I came up with my own highly condensed version of the fix.

I went into the registry on my home PC, copied the registry key pertaining to my time zone (U.S. Pacific Time) onto a flash drive, went to my ward computer and opened the key with Notepad, then manually edited the key in the registry of the ward computer using what was displayed in Notepad.

As soon as I closed Registry Editor, the system time updated. I opened MLS without a hitch.

Now, the kicker is that this only updates the computer for one time zone. If my ward moves to another time zone before replacing the PC or updating the OS, the fix is moot. ;)

If a person was feeling particularly diligent, they could manually update their computer for all the U.S. time zones, or try to use Microsoft's fix, but for me, the immortal words of Clint Eastwood as Dirty Harry keep coming into my mind, "...you've gotta ask yourself a question, 'Do I feel lucky?'"

If anyone wants to do this that isn't real familiar with the Windows registry, I could post my abridged version of Microsoft's fix.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20732
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:27 pm

SR Ward Clerk wrote:went to my ward computer and opened the key with Notepad, then manually edited the key in the registry of the ward computer using what was displayed in Notepad.


Seems like you should be able to save it as a .REG file and simply load it with a double-click. (Unless it involved deleting keys. It can still be done, but takes more knowledge.)

SR Ward Clerk-p40
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 1:00 am
Location: Las Vegas, USA
Contact:

Postby SR Ward Clerk-p40 » Tue Apr 01, 2008 1:08 am

RussellHltn wrote:Seems like you should be able to save it as a .REG file and simply load it with a double-click. (Unless it involved deleting keys. It can still be done, but takes more knowledge.)


Yes, Microsoft said to save it as a .REG file, which I wouldn't have known about until I read the Knowledge Base article about it, so you clearly know much more about the Registry than me (which isn't much, actually).

It also involved backing up the Registry, deleting a couple of keys, and replacing them. In addition, they weren't too clear about the whole process at various points in the article (if you can believe that about Microsoft!). That's why I didn't want to go through their all of their steps. I've screwed up enough registries in Windows 95 and 98 on my own computers, I didn't want to do anything devastating to my ward computer!


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest