New Bishopric not updating in MLS

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
cguzman
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 1:03 pm

New Bishopric not updating in MLS

Postby cguzman » Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:53 pm

Hello Everyone,
I have a problem, I was just called as the new Bishop for our Ward and we run into a problem this last Sunday. The new Bishopric was called and set apart almost 2 weeks ago. LCR was immediately updated by our Stake Clerk and all of our new callings are updated in LCR. However on Sunday when my 2 counselors were doing tithing when it came time to close and submit the batch they were not in the list of names that can sign the batch at the end. Luckily I was the ward clerk and since we don't have a new one yet I haven't released myself as far as LCR goes. So I'm still showing up as the clerk in MLS, we had to bring our executive secretary and we were both able to sign and send the tithing batch for last Sunday. I spoke with the stake clerk and he told me it just probably needed time to update. I checked last night and the new Bishopric still not updated. Is there a way to do this manually in MLS? I know that now is all done through LCR but why is it not updating our MLS? We have done plenty of send/receive in MLS since LCR was updated but nothing. Please let me know if you can help me or where to go for help. Luckily we have our Stake conference this weekend so we'll have some time before we have to do this again. Thanks in advance for all your help.

Cristian Guzman

eblood66
Senior Member
Posts: 2025
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 8:17 am
Location: Cumming, GA, USA

Re: New Bishopric not updating in MLS

Postby eblood66 » Thu Jun 16, 2016 12:58 pm

If the callings are not updating in MLS then try doing a unit data refresh.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20743
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: New Bishopric not updating in MLS

Postby russellhltn » Thu Jun 16, 2016 1:28 pm

I'm a little puzzled. When the stake changed a bishopric a couple of months ago, the stake clerk could only add the new bishop. He wasn't able to add the councilors. However, the old councilor s were auto-released. The new ones had to be done by the ward.

So, I'd start by checking the CDOL or LCR and make sure the full bishopric is showing there. This is the first step and has to be in place before a MLS Data Refresh will help.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6131
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Re: New Bishopric not updating in MLS

Postby lajackson » Thu Jun 16, 2016 1:40 pm

Stake updates bishop at LCR.
Ward clerk updates counselors at LCR (even if they were serving in previous bishopric).
Ward does MLS Send/Receive.
Ward MLS Admin gives Finance privileges to new bishop and counselors (if they did not already have it).

Since you said your executive secretary helped complete the deposit, I am guessing that he is also in LCR as an assistant clerk.

cguzman
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 1:03 pm

Re: New Bishopric not updating in MLS

Postby cguzman » Fri Jun 17, 2016 7:43 am

Hi there,
Yes the stake clerk did update the bishop in the morning when I was set apart and once that was done I updated the 2 new counselors. But like I said this was done the same day we were set apart. I will try doing data refresh, I will try to stop by church tonight after work. Thank you all for your help, will keep you updated.

jonesrk
Church Employee
Church Employee
Posts: 1454
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:12 am
Location: Farmington, UT, USA

Re: New Bishopric not updating in MLS

Postby jonesrk » Fri Jun 17, 2016 8:25 am

I changed a bishopric this last weekend and it went down to MLS just fine. I'm guessing that it was just a glitch. I'd be interested to hear if others are having the same problem. If it is a widespread problem I'll look into it.
Ryan Jones
CDOL Developer
Stake Technology Specialist - Software / Stake Assistant Clerk
Former Ward Clerk

cguzman
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2014 1:03 pm

Re: New Bishopric not updating in MLS

Postby cguzman » Fri Jun 17, 2016 10:12 pm

Hello Everyone,
Quick updated, I called global services today during my lunch. The sister that helped me said she was going to send a file to our computer. I went by the church after work did a quick send/receive and it worked. Everything has now updated. So if you run into the same issue just give them a call and they're able to fix it with a quick update from them. I wonder if the fact that I'm listed as both the Bishop and the clerk is what caused it to bug out. I hope to have a new clerk soon but for now we're good. Thanks for all your help.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20743
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: New Bishopric not updating in MLS

Postby russellhltn » Fri Jun 17, 2016 10:28 pm

cguzman wrote:The sister that helped me said she was going to send a file to our computer.


I'm pretty sure that's just a unit refresh. Note that if you do the process via MLS, you have to send the request for the refresh, wait for SLC computers to figure it out, and then do another send/receive to get it. If you just click on the link and do a send/receive, you'll be disappointed.
Have you searched the Wiki?

Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

scgallafent
Church Employee
Church Employee
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 4:55 pm
Location: Riverton, Utah

Re: New Bishopric not updating in MLS

Postby scgallafent » Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:01 am

russellhltn wrote:
cguzman wrote:The sister that helped me said she was going to send a file to our computer.


I'm pretty sure that's just a unit refresh. Note that if you do the process via MLS, you have to send the request for the refresh, wait for SLC computers to figure it out, and then do another send/receive to get it. If you just click on the link and do a send/receive, you'll be disappointed.

That was a unit refresh.

To do this via MLS: request a unit data refresh from the menu, transmit, wait 30 minutes (giving plenty of time for the servers to run the process), and then transmit again.


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest