Custom Report using custom field

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
davereb
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Burlington, WI, USA

Custom Report using custom field

Postby davereb » Sun Nov 15, 2015 12:23 pm

Today I tried to print a report that we use that uses "Custom Member Fields" and it gives the message "Changing the Calling in Organization selection invalidates the Calling Position."

Has anyone else had this issue?

alexjonb
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 11:47 pm

Re: Custom Report using custom field

Postby alexjonb » Sun Nov 15, 2015 1:48 pm

That happened to me today. We have a custom report showing a list of members and when they last spoke in sacrament meeting. Today I could not open the report. The error message: "Changing the Calling in Organization selection invalidates the Calling Position."

I haven't attempted to open all of our other custom reports, but at least some of them seem to be OK. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

macfarley5
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2015 3:34 pm

Re: Custom Report using custom field

Postby macfarley5 » Sun Nov 15, 2015 3:37 pm

I too ran into this today. Turns out any report that has any custom field in its format results in the "Changing the Calling..." error. Once we remove the custom fields from the format, the custom report works. Unfortunately, we need that custom field in the resulting report.

pbseager
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 8:36 am

Re: Custom Report using custom field

Postby pbseager » Tue Nov 17, 2015 7:15 am

We also started started getting this error on Sunday, on the Spoken in Sacrament Meeting report, so it seems like it must be a problem with MLS. If anyone has resolved the issue, it would be nice to know what you did to resolve it. Thanks

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6146
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Re: Custom Report using custom field

Postby lajackson » Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:23 am

There was a new release of MLS last week. It sounds as if something relating to custom reports either broke or was disabled. If you will send an MLS message or call Local Unit Support, they will look into it, especially since the custom reports function is not available at LCR.

kisaac
Community Moderators
Posts: 1170
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Utah, united states

Re: Custom Report using custom field

Postby kisaac » Tue Nov 17, 2015 1:53 pm

Although I love custom reports, I am afraid I see them going away as MLS continues to have it's abilities move to LCR. Several of my reports "broke" as Home and visiting teaching moved to LCR, as the data was no longer held in MLS, so the custom report had no way to access Home teaching data. I also don't see anything that is replacing that ability yet, as there is no way to make a custom field that is stored at CHQ and accessible via LCR. I, too, will regret about 12 years of sacrament speaking data stored in custom fields that may be lost.
"A soft answer turneth away wrath" works great on LDSTech forum boards!

romdos
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:43 pm

Re: Custom Report using custom field

Postby romdos » Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:39 am

Same thing here. We have a custom report which shows the geo codes for each of the members, which our Emergency Specialist has gone to great trouble to create. Now we get the error. Other custom reports are just fine when I click on them. Don't know what makes that one special unless it's the geo code info.

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6146
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Re: Custom Report using custom field

Postby lajackson » Sun Nov 22, 2015 9:33 pm

romdos wrote:Same thing here. We have a custom report which shows the geo codes for each of the members, which our Emergency Specialist has gone to great trouble to create. Now we get the error. Other custom reports are just fine when I click on them. Don't know what makes that one special unless it's the geo code info.

Geocode is not a custom field. Maybe it is causing the glitch, but is it possible there is something custom being requested in the report?

Whatever the cause, it is not likely that the problem will be fixed in MLS. Efforts are being spent on porting Membership functions to LCR. And as that happens, MLS functions are being turned off.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20775
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Custom Report using custom field

Postby russellhltn » Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:11 pm

lajackson wrote:Whatever the cause, it is not likely that the problem will be fixed in MLS.

That's certainly the case of a minor bug. But this might be big enough to get fixed since I suspect the "breakage" was accidental and not part of functions deliberately removed from MLS.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20775
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Custom Report using custom field

Postby russellhltn » Mon Nov 23, 2015 12:10 am

I got some feedback that suggested it might be related to "deprecating the calling functionality in MLS". So I'd make sure the custom report didn't use callings or HT/VT as either criteria or for the report itself.

If it will be fixed depends on how much effort it will take to fix it.
Have you searched the Wiki?

Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest