Patch screen with dos window loads EVERY time

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
TKhanson
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 7:06 am

Patch screen with dos window loads EVERY time

Postby TKhanson » Sun Oct 18, 2015 1:42 pm

Folks:

Upon lauching MLS, we get the Windows notice asking if we want to allow the following program to run on the computer:"

Name: RTPatch
Publisher: Pocket Soft, Inc.
Location: "C:\ProgramData\LDS\Church\MLS\sync\tools\patch....."

Anyway, I always say yes, then a FAST dos prompt window flashes as if something happens (to fast to observe) than all is cear. One would think a patch was applied; however, I have my doubts as this same screen appears each and every time we lauch MLS. Please advise how to either ensure patches are being applied and/or stop this constant attempt at applying a patch I don't have control over to monitor.

Thx.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20728
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Patch screen with dos window loads EVERY time

Postby russellhltn » Sun Oct 18, 2015 1:57 pm

Does your Windows login have local Windows administrator rights? I've heard that some people have created other logins without admin rights - that could prevent the patch from applying.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

TKhanson
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 7:06 am

Re: Patch screen with dos window loads EVERY time

Postby TKhanson » Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:03 pm

russellhltn:

Just confirmed our clerk account does have admin privlidges; however, I still logged in as Admin and there WAS no screen flashing under that account (no prompt to apply the patch either, by the way). Then I logged back in as Clerk and again that prompt to apply patch followed with the DOS promt as if to notify me of failure/success. So at this point not sure the next step.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20728
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Patch screen with dos window loads EVERY time

Postby russellhltn » Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:10 pm

I think the next step is to contact support on Monday. Generally, the prefer that you go though the Stake Technology Specialist first. So, I'd give him a ring to talk to him on how he wants to handle it.

Just to tackle the obvious - you have rebooted, right? The reason I ask is some wards don't shut off the computer, but just hibernate or sleep.
Have you searched the Wiki?

Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

TKhanson
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 7:06 am

Re: Patch screen with dos window loads EVERY time

Postby TKhanson » Sun Oct 18, 2015 3:43 pm

Yeah, rebooted many times. I shut down at the end of the day. I'll call our STS first. Thx.

jdlessley
Community Moderators
Posts: 6522
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:30 pm
Location: USA, TX

Re: Patch screen with dos window loads EVERY time

Postby jdlessley » Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:24 am

I recommend clearing the "Temp" directory. This will remove any temporary files related to the patch that should have been removed after the patch was run but may still be running each time the Clerk user profile is logged on to.
JD Lessley
Have you tried finding your answer on the LDS.org Help Center page or the LDSTech wiki?


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest