Help with creating new Wards in existing Stake

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
warhubr
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:19 am

Help with creating new Wards in existing Stake

Postby warhubr » Mon Nov 03, 2014 11:02 pm

Hi Everyone,

We have just had approval to create 2 new Wards in our Stake from 3 existing units.

Is there a bulk process whereby I can move households into these new Wards?

Also, how do you get the Maps?

Thanks
Brett

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20762
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Help with creating new Wards in existing Stake

Postby russellhltn » Tue Nov 04, 2014 1:21 am

Boundary realignment (MLS)

Once the wards are created, you can print the maps from CDOL. But I'm guessing you won't see the wards until the Bishops have been sustained, the paperwork filed and CHQ processes it.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6140
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Re: Help with creating new Wards in existing Stake

Postby lajackson » Tue Nov 04, 2014 1:37 pm

warhubr wrote:Is there a bulk process whereby I can move households into these new Wards?

After the sacrament (or other) meeting where the new ward is created, the new bishop will be set apart by the stake president, and the stake president (or clerk) will send the ordination/setting apart information to Church headquarters. A day or two after headquarters receives the information, CDOL will be updated to show that the new ward has been created and that the new bishop is in place. At that point, the new ward MLS will be able to receive membership records.

After that happens, wards who have lost households to the new ward can go into the Boundary Realignment section of MLS, check the box next to each household who has moved, and enter the new ward and stake unit numbers and names. The records will all transfer on the next Send/Receive. (See the link in russellhltn's post for more information.)

If the division is such that a ward has sent members to two different wards, the same thing can be done twice, once for each group of households moving to the same new ward. (And it can be done again, to pick up any stragglers.) The benefit of using the Boundary Realignment link is that the records can be sent as a batch, and all of the contact information remains with the membership record and is received by the new ward.

In reality, a ward can send records any time they have the new unit number and name. But if they do send them early, the records will be held in transit and will not be available to either the former ward or the new ward. So it is best to wait until the new ward is actually created.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20762
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Help with creating new Wards in existing Stake

Postby russellhltn » Tue Nov 04, 2014 2:13 pm

It should be noted that the mass-transfer leaves contact information intact. If someone were to move the members in the usual way of moving families, the contact information would have to be re-entered or else the new ward gets nothing. You can't "leave it blank to keep it the same".

So, trying to transfer members the "usual way" is either mildly labor intensive with bad results or very labor intensive.
Have you searched the Wiki?

Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

warhubr
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 7:19 am

Re: Help with creating new Wards in existing Stake

Postby warhubr » Tue Nov 04, 2014 10:01 pm

Thanks everyone. That makes sense now.
Cheers
Brett

simonawright
Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:37 pm
Location: UK, Leicester

Re: Help with creating new Wards in existing Stake

Postby simonawright » Mon Nov 17, 2014 5:41 am

If 2 units were to be merged, one is to be discontinued and the other renamed, can the records from the discontinued unit be moved and be available straight away?

I am assuming that in this situation the unit number doesn't change for the unit being renamed?

User avatar
aebrown
Community Administrator
Posts: 14693
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:48 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Help with creating new Wards in existing Stake

Postby aebrown » Mon Nov 17, 2014 5:51 am

simonawright wrote:If 2 units were to be merged, one is to be discontinued and the other renamed, can the records from the discontinued unit be moved and be available straight away?

I am assuming that in this situation the unit number doesn't change for the unit being renamed?

When we have renamed units in our stake, the unit number definitely stayed the same.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20762
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: Help with creating new Wards in existing Stake

Postby russellhltn » Mon Nov 17, 2014 10:03 am

simonawright wrote:If 2 units were to be merged, one is to be discontinued and the other renamed, can the records from the discontinued unit be moved and be available straight away?

I am assuming that in this situation the unit number doesn't change for the unit being renamed?


Yes. See Boundary realignment (MLS)
Have you searched the Wiki?

Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest