MLS forced full screen.

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
alankristensen
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:50 pm

MLS forced full screen.

Postby alankristensen » Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:54 pm

Why is it that when a developer can figure out how to do something, like force the application full screen to match the monitor, that they have to implement it for everyone? I personally HATE the forced full screen and prefer that MLS not take the full screen as I do other things as well. Please either remove the forced full screen, or create a setting that can be changed to turn it off.

This by far is the most annoying update in a long time.

drepouille
Senior Member
Posts: 1227
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 5:06 pm
Location: Plattsmouth, NE
Contact:

Re: MLS forced full screen.

Postby drepouille » Sat Sep 27, 2014 5:43 pm

Please explain. I can't think of MLS ever forcing me to maximize its window. On the other hand, I have complained that MLS Send/Receive steals the focus from any other application.
Dana Repouille, Plattsmouth, Nebraska

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6131
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Re: MLS forced full screen.

Postby lajackson » Sat Sep 27, 2014 6:38 pm

alankristensen wrote:I personally HATE the forced full screen and prefer that MLS not take the full screen as I do other things as well.

We have a clerk who prefers to work with MLS full-screen, but MLS always starts up in a normal sized window. So when I come in after him, I have to reduce it again to normal size.

It is also possible that your shortcut to start MLS has been modified by a clever specialist to start MLS full-screen.

But to my knowledge, MLS itself does not start out full screen on its own. If someone else has caused it, click on the little double box next to the red X at the top right of the window to return it to normal size.

drepouille
Senior Member
Posts: 1227
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 5:06 pm
Location: Plattsmouth, NE
Contact:

Re: MLS forced full screen.

Postby drepouille » Sat Sep 27, 2014 6:43 pm

Ahhh, I forgot that the MLS shortcut can be set to run the application maximized!
Dana Repouille, Plattsmouth, Nebraska

scgallafent
Church Employee
Church Employee
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 4:55 pm
Location: Riverton, Utah

Re: MLS forced full screen.

Postby scgallafent » Mon Sep 29, 2014 8:48 am

We did change the default size for MLS with one of the recent releases. The default window size for the application was based on an 800x600 display resolution. We updated that to target a 1024x768 display.

drepouille
Senior Member
Posts: 1227
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 5:06 pm
Location: Plattsmouth, NE
Contact:

Re: MLS forced full screen.

Postby drepouille » Wed Oct 08, 2014 5:10 pm

I just saw this when I installed MLS 3.7.3. I think the larger default window size is great. Then again, I always maximize my application windows anyway. I just use Alt-Tab to switch among the application windows.
Thanks
Dana Repouille, Plattsmouth, Nebraska

joelearl
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 5:36 pm

Re: MLS forced full screen.

Postby joelearl » Wed Oct 08, 2014 6:06 pm

I'm not sure we are talking about the same thing. Most of the posts so far seem to be describing how MSL comes up, and if you don't like it you can just un-maximize it by pushing the "two-boxes" button next to the red "X". Since I installed MLS 3.7.3 earlier this evening, I have found it to be permanently maximized. There is a "single big box" button next to the red "X". Pushing it makes the window refresh, but does not change the size or the button. If I grab the title bar, I can drag the window down a little and then grab the top edge to resize it. It will resize while I am dragging, but as soon as I release it, the window moves back up and expands to again fill the screen vertically.

Interestingly, the title artwork looks better proportioned when I have it compressed vertically to about 75% of the full height. Or maybe I am just biased toward my own proportions :)

Update - when I checked my screen resolution, I found it was set to 1024x768, but could go higher. Since I am a resolution junkie, I cranked it up to the max of 1280x1024. And lo, the window was then resizable. So I guess the change mentioned by scgallafent was to the *minimum* size, and when my screen was only that big it could not go any smaller.

scgallafent
Church Employee
Church Employee
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 4:55 pm
Location: Riverton, Utah

Re: MLS forced full screen.

Postby scgallafent » Thu Oct 09, 2014 8:25 am

joelearl wrote:Update - when I checked my screen resolution, I found it was set to 1024x768, but could go higher. Since I am a resolution junkie, I cranked it up to the max of 1280x1024. And lo, the window was then resizable. So I guess the change mentioned by scgallafent was to the *minimum* size, and when my screen was only that big it could not go any smaller.

You are correct that it sets a minimum window size.

Last week, I noticed that the Send/Receive button is hidden by the Windows XP task bar when running at 1024x768. (Now you know what we're running in my clerk's office.) The window size has been adjusted slightly in MLS 3.7.4 so that the button isn't hidden in that situation.

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6131
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Re: MLS forced full screen.

Postby lajackson » Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:23 am

scgallafent wrote:You are correct that it sets a minimum window size.

This may be the break we need to press our FM group for bigger monitors. [grin]

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20734
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: MLS forced full screen.

Postby russellhltn » Thu Oct 09, 2014 1:03 pm

lajackson wrote:This may be the break we need to press our FM group for bigger monitors. [grin]

You can try. Only this year have we gotten rid of the 17" CRT out of all of our clerks offices. While the new monitors might be bigger, they're also wider - which may translate to "shorter".

The new monitors we got just a couple of months ago were Dell P2014H - 19.5" 16:9 aspect ratio. If my math is right, that's a bit over 9.5" high. But a 17" LCD of 4:3 ratio is about 10.2" high. So I wouldn't replace any 17" flat screens, but I would replace any 17" CRT or smaller flat screens.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest