Can't Connect to Server

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
Tomball Clerk-p40
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:11 pm

Can't Connect to Server

Postby Tomball Clerk-p40 » Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:32 pm

I am having difficulty when doing a send/receive of connecting to the Church servers. This has gone on since downloading 2.8.1. Not that that is the reason, but I try 30 - 40 times and then give up. I can't make the financial transfer because of this. I get the typical pop-up of 3 reasons why I can't connect. Anyone else experiencing this difficulty?

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6129
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Postby lajackson » Sun Apr 13, 2008 9:56 pm

We have not noticed a problem connecting after installing 2.8.1. You may wish to follow the normal steps when you cannot connect, beginning with checking the phone line, etc. Your stake technology specialist should be familiar with the setup and the phone line quality in your area and provide help or guidance.

User avatar
marianomarini
Senior Member
Posts: 594
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:13 am
Location: Vicenza. Italy
Contact:

Postby marianomarini » Mon Apr 14, 2008 3:32 am

One of our branches has some problems downloading version 2.8.1
I think is telephone line problems.
I would to know if there is something to do before download retry or just try it till all is ok?
La vita è una lezione interminabile di umiltà (Anonimo).
Life is a endless lesson of humility (Anonimous).

User avatar
Mikerowaved
Community Moderators
Posts: 3131
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:56 am
Location: Layton, UT

Postby Mikerowaved » Mon Apr 14, 2008 10:59 am

A couple of months ago we had connection problems. I agree, it can be VERY frustrating. Turned out to be the desk phone sitting right next to me. Even hung up, it was putting noise on the line making modem connections nearly impossible.

This may not be your problem, but the first thing I would do is unplug everything else on the same phone line (phones, fax machines, line surge protectors, etc.) and try it again. If it still give you problems, then your Stake Technology Specialist should open a trouble ticket with the phone company to come out and fix the line. Generally, if it's determined to be their problem, most phone companies will fix it for free. If it's your equipment causing the problem, they will charge you for the visit.
So we can better help you, please edit your Profile to include your general location.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20724
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:39 am

You may want to update your Symantec Anti-virus. It may be competing for bandwidth during the phone connection.

You can update by going to:

http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/download/pages/US-SAVCE.html

Scroll down until you find a file name in the following format:
yyyymmdd-???-x86.exe

No login or passwords are required to get this file. Simply copy it to a flash drive or CD and take it to the ward computer.

The Desktop 5.5 instructions indicate that it should be updated at least once a quarter.

User avatar
childsdj
Community Moderators
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 9:51 am

Postby childsdj » Tue Apr 15, 2008 1:27 pm

Another thing to try is to go into system options in MLS and make sure that you choose modem or Internet for a connection rather than auto detect. This has helped in the past.


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest