Strange message about Finances; Unable to use finances

Discussions around using and interfacing with the Church MLS program.
trs790
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:39 pm

Strange message about Finances; Unable to use finances

Postby trs790 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:44 pm

Hey all,

I am the ward clerk for a brand new ward that was just created. When I click on "enter donations" in MLS, I get a popup window with the following message:

"the MLS finance functionality is temporarily unavailable while Church headquarters switches your unit to the new finance system.

...

you will be notified when the finance system is again available"

Has anyone else ever gotten this message and did it resolve itself? Thanks!

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20728
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Fri Jan 13, 2012 10:24 pm

When you say "just created" as in this Sunday will be your first Sunday to use MLS? I'm thinking that the setup of your ward may not be complete. It's too late to do anything about it now. If it doesn't resolve itself by Monday, you can call Local Unit Support to see if there's a problem.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

crislapi
Senior Member
Posts: 1265
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 3:05 pm
Location: USA

Postby crislapi » Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:16 am

I agree with russellHltn. It sounds like you got ahead of headquarters. It takes a while for a new unit to be set up in all the systems and it would appear they have not set you up in the financial system yet. Out of curiosity, have you received your new deposit slips and endorsement stamp yet?

trs790
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:39 pm

Postby trs790 » Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:27 am

Thanks everyone for the help, yeah that Sunday was the first Sunday using MLS. I called headquarters and they had to queue a "unlock" file. After I did a send and receive it unlocked finances. Oddly enough I had already received deposit slips and the stamp, but headquarters hadn't unlocked MLS yet.

KenRichins
Member
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 5:07 pm
Location: Live Oak, California, United States

Postby KenRichins » Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:59 pm

They can not unlock the MLS until the computer is running MLS and the STS has contacted them and asked for the activation (unlock). I have that done when I install MLS or a new computer.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20728
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Postby russellhltn » Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:28 pm

KenRichins wrote:They can not unlock the MLS until the computer is running MLS and the STS has contacted them and asked for the activation (unlock). I have that done when I install MLS or a new computer.


I think that's something different. What you describe sound like the security feature that comes into play if you have to do a massive rebuild or move computers and it affects the communication. I'd expect security it to already be "reset" for a brand-new unit.
Have you searched the Wiki?

Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.


Return to “MLS Support, Help, and Feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest