LDS Assistant

Do you have a useful link that involves the Church and the technology discussed on this site? Post your links and resources here.
User avatar
Mr. M-p40
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Anderson, CA
Contact:

LDS.org Search Toolbar

Postby Mr. M-p40 » Fri May 04, 2007 2:13 am

I have a toolbar I use that I built a while back that is similar to a Google search toolbar but it searches the lds.org site. I have recently updated it since the church has updated their site. I have gotten a lot of positive feedback on it. I think that it would be helpful to some people. It also has many of the pertinent official LDS sites built right into it.

Anyway, it has to do with technology and the church. I won't post the name even though its a freebie as to not accidentally violate the code of conduct but, maybe its something the church would like to do in the future.

Thanks,

Mr. M

User avatar
WelchTC
Senior Member
Posts: 2088
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 7:51 am
Location: Kaysville, UT, USA
Contact:

Postby WelchTC » Fri May 04, 2007 5:41 am

Mr. M wrote:I won't post the name even though its a freebie as to not accidentally violate the code of conduct but, maybe its something the church would like to do in the future.

If it is a freebie, post a link! We want people to share their free and/or open source projects with others. What is against the rules is for people to advertise products for sell on these forums.

Tom

User avatar
Mr. M-p40
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Anderson, CA
Contact:

LDSAssistant

Postby Mr. M-p40 » Fri May 04, 2007 8:15 am

That's great...

It is a freebie...http://www.ldsassistant.com. I hope everyone enjoys it.

skiptaylor
Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Lancaster CA

Postby skiptaylor » Thu Jun 21, 2007 9:57 pm

tomw wrote:If it is a freebie, post a link! We want people to share their free and/or open source projects with others. What is against the rules is for people to advertise products for sell on these forums.

Tom

When I went to install this toolbar today, McAfee anti-virus stopped the install with a complaint of an adware program embedded into it and trying to install on my system.

I'll not be putting this one in despite the claims on their website of no adware.

Skip

From McAfee
"Details
Name: Adware-Softomate"

User avatar
thedqs
Community Moderators
Posts: 1038
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:53 am
Location: Redmond, WA
Contact:

Postby thedqs » Thu Jun 21, 2007 10:04 pm

Best course of action is to notify the company that McAfee is reporting there toolbar as spyware. I could just be a false positive (McAfee is famous for that and that is the reason why most software you install asks first that you turn off your virus protection first) but just to be sure e-mail the company first.
This goes for any software that is reported as adware. The major problem with software that has auto-updates is that most adware programs report them as adware because the auto-update feature connects to a single website.
- David

User avatar
Mr. M-p40
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:31 am
Location: Anderson, CA
Contact:

Postby Mr. M-p40 » Wed Jul 11, 2007 1:21 pm

avskip wrote:When I went to install this toolbar today, McAfee anti-virus stopped the install with a complaint of an adware program embedded into it and trying to install on my system.

I'll not be putting this one in despite the claims on their website of no adware.

Skip

From McAfee
"Details
Name: Adware-Softomate"


it is definitely a false positive due to the auto-update. I am the person who built it. I just built a genealogy toolbar that I have disabled the autoupdate and made it manual to try and avoid the problem. But I am seeing what I can do to rectify it.

Thanks for the feedback though.
[color=black][font=Trebuchet MS][size=84]Mr. M[/color][/SIZE][/font]
[color=black]-----------------------------------------------------------------------[/color]
Visit me virtually anytime. ;)

http://www.mariohipol.com

Stephan-p40
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 5:59 am
Location: Doncaster, United Kingdom

Postby Stephan-p40 » Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:13 pm

I had similar problems with toolbar building. was using a software that had loads of features to make cool toolbars however some people misused them and created spyware adware toolbars and now all of the toolbars get detected as spyware adware even if they don't use those features.


Return to “Links & Resources”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest