english channel 3 is gone...

Discussions around the satellite system and video distribution.
nognielsen
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:54 am

english channel 3 is gone...

Postby nognielsen » Fri Feb 08, 2013 6:57 pm

So I have a almost new legacy stakecenter. I go to plug in a TV tonight in the RF room to view a broadcast and the only channel that will work is 4, the Spanish channel... 3 is not pure fuzz like theres no signal there (like channel 7,8 or 9), but there's no picture and the sound is a different kind of "fuzz"... I can get signal fine in the chapel if I plug in a projector into the RCA jack on the stand. I go to the library and check all the connections behind the av cabinet and they look okay... I plugged a TV directly in the modulator in the av cabinet and same thing... a weird fuzz, no picture...

Does that mean I have a bad modulator? Anything else I can try? Does the chapel work because I was connecting differently some how through RCA, (not coax)?

Obviously the satellite feed is fine because I can get it fine over rca in the chapel, sounds like a modulator issue? I have stake conference next week which is a regional broadcast so I'd love to have it fixed soon so I can feed the conference in other rooms via RF

Thanks!

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20732
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: english channel 3 is gone...

Postby russellhltn » Fri Feb 08, 2013 7:36 pm

It's unclear to me if this was a working system that broke or a new system that is not working as you expect.

I'm surprised that anyone would use modulators on both CH 3 and CH 4. That's rather close together. (ch 3 OR ch 4 is common). You might explore the entire range of 2-12.

I can't tell if your chapel ever had two channels or only one. Or what language that one channel should be.

There's a number of factors involved. I think you need to work with the Stake Technology Specialist to see what should be happening.
Have you searched the Wiki?
Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

jdlessley
Community Moderators
Posts: 6522
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:30 pm
Location: USA, TX

Re: english channel 3 is gone...

Postby jdlessley » Fri Feb 08, 2013 7:37 pm

nognielsen wrote:Obviously the satellite feed is fine because I can get it fine over rca in the chapel, sounds like a modulator issue?

The modulator that feeds the chapel rostrum is the same one you are connecting directly to in the satellite cabinet. So there is no malfunction of the modulator. The only difference is the chapel feed is from the rear connection on the modulator and you were connecting to the front panel connector. It is possible the front panel connector is bad or there is a bad connection to it.

Regardless of what is causing the problem this should be taken to the FM Group through your high council physical facilities representative. They are responsible for satellite equipment and building audio and video distribution.
JD Lessley
Have you tried finding your answer on the LDS.org Help Center page or the LDSTech wiki?

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20732
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: english channel 3 is gone...

Postby russellhltn » Fri Feb 08, 2013 7:57 pm

jdlessley wrote:The modulator that feeds the chapel rostrum is the same one you are connecting directly to in the satellite cabinet.


He said the chapel was "RCA", so I think it's video out, not RF out.
Have you searched the Wiki?

Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6129
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Re: english channel 3 is gone...

Postby lajackson » Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:05 pm

nognielsen wrote:the only channel that will work is 4, the Spanish channel... 3 is not pure fuzz like theres no signal there (like channel 7,8 or 9), but there's no picture and the sound is a different kind of "fuzz"... I can get signal fine in the chapel if I plug in a projector into the RCA jack on the stand.

As russellhltn said, it would be unusual to use channels 3 and 4. We use channel 2 (English) and 4 (Spanish).

My vote is that what you saw was a TV tuned to channel 3 that was trying to parse a neighboring (channel 2?) signal.

You might have a bad modulator on the English channel. The video to the chapel does not necessarily have to come out of that modulator, although it usually does.

In any event, the stake PFR to the FM Group is the route to go, and he ought to make the call in time for them to work it Monday morning if there is a problem, because you will need it for the regional stake conference next Sunday.

russellhltn
Community Administrator
Posts: 20732
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: U.S.

Re: english channel 3 is gone...

Postby russellhltn » Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:22 pm

lajackson wrote:In any event, the stake PFR to the FM Group is the route to go, and he ought to make the call in time for them to work it Monday morning if there is a problem, because you will need it for the regional stake conference next Sunday.


Does he need English in another room? If it's only needed in the chapel, then he should be good to go right now. If all he needs is the video feed, he can use the Spanish channel - just turn down the TV audio and use the chapel sound system.
Have you searched the Wiki?

Try using a Google search by adding "site:tech.lds.org/wiki" to the search criteria.

jdlessley
Community Moderators
Posts: 6522
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:30 pm
Location: USA, TX

Re: english channel 3 is gone...

Postby jdlessley » Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:43 pm

russellhltn wrote:
jdlessley wrote:The modulator that feeds the chapel rostrum is the same one you are connecting directly to in the satellite cabinet.


He said the chapel was "RCA", so I think it's video out, not RF out.
You're right, the chapel rostrum video is not from a modulator but from the satellite receiver. The appropriate audio channel (I don't remember whether it is the left channel or the right channel for English) is also from the satellite receiver and routed through the chapel audio system. So it is possible the English channel modulator may either not be connected (OP stated connections checked OK) to the satellite receiver or it may be inop.
JD Lessley
Have you tried finding your answer on the LDS.org Help Center page or the LDSTech wiki?

lajackson
Community Moderators
Posts: 6129
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: US

Re: english channel 3 is gone...

Postby lajackson » Fri Feb 08, 2013 9:40 pm

russellhltn wrote:Does he need English in another room? If it's only needed in the chapel, then he should be good to go right now. If all he needs is the video feed, he can use the Spanish channel - just turn down the TV audio and use the chapel sound system.

That is true. You will have the same video from either channel. And if you are running English overflow to another room, and the chapel sound is available in that room, you will be fine.

However, if you need English sound in a room that does not have chapel audio (and we have a few of those), you will not be able to get it through the TV until the problem is fixed.

nognielsen
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:54 am

Re: english channel 3 is gone...

Postby nognielsen » Sat Feb 09, 2013 8:06 am

Yes to clarify, my av cabinet says,

Channel 3 -English
Channel 4 - Spanish
Channel 5 - Camera

What I think I've come up with for the meantime, and tell me if I'm wrong here... Is to plug a TV in, in the primary and Relief Society rooms, turn it to channel 4 (Spanish) and mute it, but switch the PA systems in those rooms to "chapel" so that the satellite audio from the chapel which is English, will come through.

I'll let you know if that works.

nognielsen
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 7:54 am

Re: english channel 3 is gone...

Postby nognielsen » Sat Feb 09, 2013 10:01 am

The main issue I'm worried about is we are broadcasting the satellite feed next week to other buildings via internet as they do not have a satellite... I'm guessing the video out (not coax) on the av cabinet will broadcast the english video and picture just fine still as that worked in the chapel apparently. But at this point i'm not sure so I'll test it tomorrow to make sure its working.

Still learning the a/v aspects of being a STS as I'm more a computer/networking guy. It sure is interesting to learn about though!


Return to “Satellite”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest